Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Want to share your OpenWrt / Gargoyle knowledge? Implemented a new feature? Let us know here.

Moderator: Moderators

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5388
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by Lantis »

They changed the way sysupgrade works so it never actually returns a signal to the browser to tell it to check for the router coming back up.

Will need to change the logic.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

User avatar
apvm
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 7:30 am

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by apvm »

Planning to buy an used TP Link C2600, it has openwrt with luci installed already, do I have to revert it back to stock before flashing Gargoyle from this thread? TIA

pythonic
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by pythonic »

If it already has OpenWrt on it, you should be able to just install the sysupgrade image as though it was an OpenWrt image using the Luci firmware upgrade function. If you run into problems, you should be able to TFTP install the factory image (but read the OpenWrt C2600 hardware notes to be sure how that works) without having to reinstall the OEM firmware.

Caveat: I've not attempted either approach myself...

boldga
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:05 am

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by boldga »

I have a Weird problem:
Setting:
Router: R7800
DDNS: xxxx.com
port forwarding: 8086 to wired Lan device 192.168.1.103

Test1: firmware 1.11.x ,DHCP to ISP, connecting to xxxx.com:8086
From internet: OK
From Wired device inside LAN: NOT WORK
From wireless device inside LAN: OK

Test2, Stock firmware, DHCP to same ISP, connecting to xxxx.com:8086
All OK

Test3: firmware 1.11.x , PPPoE to another ISP, connecting to xxxx.com:8086
All OK

it seems that the firmware doesn't support NAT loopback fully?

RomanHK
Posts: 533
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by RomanHK »

boldga wrote:I have a Weird problem:
Setting:
Router: R7800
DDNS: xxxx.com
port forwarding: 8086 to wired Lan device 192.168.1.103

Test1: firmware 1.11.x ,DHCP to ISP, connecting to xxxx.com:8086
From internet: OK
From Wired device inside LAN: NOT WORK
From wireless device inside LAN: OK

Test2, Stock firmware, DHCP to same ISP, connecting to xxxx.com:8086
All OK

Test3: firmware 1.11.x , PPPoE to another ISP, connecting to xxxx.com:8086
All OK

it seems that the firmware doesn't support NAT loopback fully?

:idea:
Maybe a problem in DDNS. Try entering the IP address instead of xxxx.com.

This is often done on the GUI web page via https (maybe ARP is to blame).

Code: Select all

arp -d *

Try cleaning up the arp table again and trying to reconnect to the 8086 port.

EDIT: P.S. if it works well on WiFi, then loopback works because WiFi is connected to the LAN (br-lan interface).
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

boldga
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:05 am

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by boldga »

RomanHK wrote:
boldga wrote:I have a Weird problem:
Setting:
Router: R7800
DDNS: xxxx.com
port forwarding: 8086 to wired Lan device 192.168.1.103

Test1: firmware 1.11.x ,DHCP to ISP, connecting to xxxx.com:8086
From internet: OK
From Wired device inside LAN: NOT WORK
From wireless device inside LAN: OK

Test2, Stock firmware, DHCP to same ISP, connecting to xxxx.com:8086
All OK

Test3: firmware 1.11.x , PPPoE to another ISP, connecting to xxxx.com:8086
All OK

it seems that the firmware doesn't support NAT loopback fully?

:idea:
Maybe a problem in DDNS. Try entering the IP address instead of xxxx.com.

This is often done on the GUI web page via https (maybe ARP is to blame).

Code: Select all

arp -d *

Try cleaning up the arp table again and trying to reconnect to the 8086 port.

EDIT: P.S. if it works well on WiFi, then loopback works because WiFi is connected to the LAN (br-lan interface).

tried another DDNS, result was same. (DDNS is not the point?)
ran arp -d * and then tried to reconnect to the 8086 port, result was same.(ARP is not the point either?)

P.S. entering the IP address directly is work.

RomanHK
Posts: 533
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by RomanHK »

Depending on what you write it looks like the problem of converting a domain name to an IP address. The question is whether there are any changes in DDNS providers in this build (changes made: https://github.com/ericpaulbishop/gargo ... its/master ), and the next question is whether all providers work - whether there is any failure in WAN IP address detection.

Recently, I have noticed an increase in outages and attacks on DDNS services. I can't classify better because I have a paid domain so I can't serve better.
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

pythonic
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by pythonic »

boldga wrote:it seems that the firmware doesn't support NAT loopback fully?

This isn't a new issue - see this thread.

A workaround for using the DDNS name is to configure it as a local DNS name but exactly how that might be achieved in Gargoyle I don't know.

RomanHK
Posts: 533
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by RomanHK »

Try one more thing:
1. ping xxxx.com by WiFi
2. ping xxxx.com by LAN
Both IP addresses must match. Is it so?

Also be aware of the router's domain name (Can not match your xxxx.com!):
Image
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

boldga
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:05 am

Re: Experimental build of Gargoyle 1.11.0 for ipq806x architecture routers

Post by boldga »

pythonic wrote:
boldga wrote:it seems that the firmware doesn't support NAT loopback fully?

This isn't a new issue - see this thread.

A workaround for using the DDNS name is to configure it as a local DNS name but exactly how that might be achieved in Gargoyle I don't know.

Before I changed to R7800, I had run Gargoyle on tp-link TL-WDR4300 without such problem for a long time.
maybe it depends on different device driver?
I don't know how to add an entry in dnsmasq in garoyle. So I add a line in hosts file of wired devices to solve this problem, temporarily.

Post Reply