PPPOE Uptime

Suggest improvements and new features for Gargoyle.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
jackishere
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 1:47 pm

PPPOE Uptime

Post by jackishere »

Hey!

Much like the stock OpenWRT, could we get a line that shows the uptime of our current PPPoE dialer ?



thanks.

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1372
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: PPPOE Uptime

Post by pbix »

This information is available on the modem's web page.
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

jackishere
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 1:47 pm

Re: PPPOE Uptime

Post by jackishere »

which i dont have access to since its on another LAN.
In any case, the data is there, it's shown by luci if you install stock openWRT. it should be fairly easy to do this in the overview/status screen of gargoyle.

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1372
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: PPPOE Uptime

Post by pbix »

Well I acknowledge your suggestion but just want to let you know there is a way to access your modem in case your interested, even though it is on a different LAN.

[url]
http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/dok ... sl_modem&s[]=modem
[/url]
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

jackishere
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 1:47 pm

Re: PPPOE Uptime

Post by jackishere »

Awesome!

it works!

but the thing is, since its being used as a bridge, it has no data on the uptime of the PPPoE connection. that dada is on the dialing side, ie, the gargoyle..

still, a cool way to access the modem.

jackishere
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 1:47 pm

Re: PPPOE Uptime

Post by jackishere »

Since this does exist in the stock openWRT, and you guys are developing on top of it, shouldn't it be fairly easy to just show it on your UI anyway ?

samb
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 5:16 pm

Re: PPPOE Uptime

Post by samb »

I realise that it is not ppoe, but it would be nice to have the connection time in the status page for 3g modems as well.

As you would know these can drop the connection and redial automatically, sometimes multiple disconnects over a short time.

Connection uptime would help to troubleshoot 3g connection issues when setting up Gargoyle. Going to the logs and searching for a disconnect is possible but time consuming. It's a feature that would be greatly appreciated.

jackishere
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 1:47 pm

Re: PPPOE Uptime

Post by jackishere »

Hey again guys!

Just wondering if there's anything in the barrel for this feature request?
Sometimes the first line of troubleshooting in PPPoE cases is to see the amounts of disconnects per hour or per day. having this data on the UI would be awesome.

please consider this. thanks.

Post Reply