Quota total related to MAC rather than IP

Suggest improvements and new features for Gargoyle.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
anasazi
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:56 pm

Quota total related to MAC rather than IP

Post by anasazi »

This issue has been brought up a couple of times and should be here
in the 'features request' bucket!

Quota byte count based on IP is not as useful as it could be. Rather if
quota counts were related to a MAC address the counts persist over
several login sessions.

Having a DHCP lease lifetime way long to keep the IP/MAC related
works, however one does run out of IP range at some point. Releaseing
the IP after the lease time but having a configuration time to keep a MAC
around helps. When the MAC would show up again, it would be given
any IP that's next and then the quota number be put back in that MACs
total.

Would this be difficult to add?
What are others finding happens related to this situation?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4809
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Quota total related to MAC rather than IP

Post by ispyisail »

you need to use "assigned static IP"

then you will have no problems

anasazi
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:56 pm

Re: Quota total related to MAC rather than IP

Post by anasazi »

Static IP would not work, I have a public hot spot which has
different people connecting while here, for as little as 10 minutes
then leave. Some longer. So it would be a major task to manually
add them as a static IP and a quota.

Perhaps you missed my point in this as a feature which would
be really great to have in the router. I didn't say it was a public
hot spot, so this clarifies the issue.

Thanks
M

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4809
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Quota total related to MAC rather than IP

Post by ispyisail »

gargoyle is not really designed for public hotspots

open-mesh.com would be a better bet for you

Post Reply