Feature Request, show DNS server

Suggest improvements and new features for Gargoyle.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
pbix
Developer
Posts: 1372
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Feature Request, show DNS server

Post by pbix »

Am I missing something or is the WAN side DNS servers not displayed in the UI anywhere? I would think that this would appear on the status screen in the WAN section. Now there does not seem to be anyway to see what DNS servers where acquired from the ISP.
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Feature Request, show DNS server

Post by Eric »

You're absolutely right. That should be added to the WAN section of the status/overview page. I should have an update for that by the end of the weekend.

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Feature Request, show DNS server

Post by Eric »

Now implemented in 1.0.11.

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1372
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Feature Request, show DNS server

Post by pbix »

I loaded v1.11 and I see the DNS field but there is no data displayed.

Screen shot attached.

I have a PPPoE connection so I wonder if that could be related to this issue.
Attachments
NoDNS.jpg
NoDNS.jpg (83.12 KiB) Viewed 4858 times
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

BikeMike
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:02 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: Feature Request, show DNS server

Post by BikeMike »

I am using PPPoE with alternate DNS servers and those are displayed.

To test, I removed them. My ISP's DNS servers were not displayed in their place. Not sure if that was the intention, or if it was just to display alternates if configured?

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Feature Request, show DNS server

Post by Eric »

This should be fixed in v1.0.12 -- now the DNS servers are loaded from /tmp/resolv.conf.auto instead of uci, so this should be accurate even when using PPPoE without custom DNS configured.

Post Reply