Ability to see more than 100% usage in Bandwidth Quota Usage

Suggest improvements and new features for Gargoyle.

Moderator: Moderators

nocap
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:44 pm

Ability to see more than 100% usage in Bandwidth Quota Usage

Postby nocap » Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:07 pm

In Bandwidth Quota Usage you are able to view how much of the given Active Quotas are used. An Active Quota can in reality exceed 100% as there is an option to throttle bandwidth when quota is exceeded, (instead of shutting it down). I believe it would be informative to know how much the quota has been exceeded, e.g. quota is set to 10GB, throttling kicks in but lets say another 2GB is used - then Bandwidth Quota Usage would show 120% instead of 100%

If it’s of relevance to me only – feel free to shoot it down. Thank you for you for great work!
1.11.X on WRT32X
plus a brick on a shelf somewhere

fifonik
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:52 am
Location: Brisbane, AU

Re: Ability to see more than 100% usage in Bandwidth Quota Usage

Postby fifonik » Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:32 pm

Just seen such situation a few days ago and thought the same!

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5134
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Ability to see more than 100% usage in Bandwidth Quota Usage

Postby Lantis » Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:22 am

Definitely a good idea.
My only concern is how people will interpret the data in the case of hard cutoff quotas.

Technically, although the user is cutoff, a small amount of data might still be recorded against the user. This data is of no consequence, but I can already see in my crystal ball having the answer the question:
“My cut off internet quota doesn’t work because the usage is at 101%”

And I’m not about making my life harder lol.

So perhaps the hard cutoff quotas will still show 100% (whether it’s true or not).
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

fifonik
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:52 am
Location: Brisbane, AU

Re: Ability to see more than 100% usage in Bandwidth Quota Usage

Postby fifonik » Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:35 pm

This can easily be "fixed" by adding comment, something like "Quota can exceed 100% when throttled"

In my case user reached quota and got throttled. However, continued to use torrent and youtube non-stop so reached almost 110% that was not easily visible on the usage page.

rfdude
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 2:16 pm

Re: Ability to see more than 100% usage in Bandwidth Quota Usage

Postby rfdude » Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:21 pm

This topic has been posted before, including by myself for exactly the reasons mentioned.... using throttling exceeds 100%. I still support this as a logical request, subject to all the other pressures and prioritization.
rfdude
------------------
1.09.2 Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2 -> 8 OpenMesh AP's
1.10.0 Archer C7 -> Multiple Cisco 1702i Autonomous Mode


Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests