QoS on/off from command line

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

adix
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 5:13 pm

QoS on/off from command line

Postby adix » Fri Jun 10, 2016 6:11 pm

Hi,
I would like to cron enable/disable my QoS ruleset so that its only enabled and effective during certain hours of the day.

Anyone know how to facilitate this while keeping nice with the front end? Failing that, how to do it without keeping nice.

Thanks

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: QoS on/off from command line

Postby nworbnhoj » Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:28 pm

Playing nicely with Gargoyle front end is a bit involved. The command set is constructed in www/js/qos.js from about line 55
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

guyso
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:52 pm

Re: QoS on/off from command line

Postby guyso » Sat Jun 11, 2016 8:05 pm

Hi adix

I had some similar needs awhile ago and worked out how to use cron to change the QoS threshold limits and restart the QoS process. I am sure there would be a command you could use instead of the restart command to actually switch QoS on or off. Lantis was incredibly helpful to me and he or others may be able help with the enable/disable command.

As an alternate approach you may be able to use the commands I used and set the QoS limit really high at a certain time of the day which I think would effectively disable it anyway, and return it to your normal level when you need QoS enabled. Others may comment on whether this will work or not.

If you read the posts at the following location you should get all the info you need. Worked 100% for me. I hope the link works as I have never tried to put a link in a post before.

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=7445

Hope this helps.
Netgear WNDR3700 v1 and v2 and v4

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4705
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: QoS on/off from command line

Postby ispyisail » Sat Jun 11, 2016 8:16 pm

Sometimes you get lucky

Lantis many time goes above and beyond .............................

adix
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 5:13 pm

Re: QoS on/off from command line

Postby adix » Sat Jun 11, 2016 8:28 pm




This thread is great, and is at least a good workaround for me as i can easily highball the config during the day and constrict for the evening.

Not at the computer now, but will look into this, great headstart, thx all for the replies.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5208
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: QoS on/off from command line

Postby Lantis » Sun Jun 12, 2016 6:16 pm

If you're stuck still in a few days I'll add more details.

I'm using the long weekend to change the gearbox in my car and haven't sat at a computer for 3 days :)
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

adix
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 5:13 pm

Re: QoS on/off from command line

Postby adix » Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:00 am

OK so I had a quick look.

Without worrying about the interface it appears all I would need to do is execute /etc/init.d/qos_gargoyle stop|start

To keep the frontend intact eg the 'Enable Quality of Service (Download Direction)' tick box - I would need to remove the /etc/rc.d/S50qos_gargoyle symbolic link, or just /etc/init.d/qos_gargoyle disable

Not sure if I would need to restart the firewall or if qos_gargoyle stop|start is enough for it all to take effect - cant test right now.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5208
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: QoS on/off from command line

Postby Lantis » Mon Jun 13, 2016 4:56 am

My thoughts are to restart the firewall as well, but I can't tell whether it is necessary.
I don't believe start and stop do it for you.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases


Return to “Monitoring / Quota / QoS Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests