QOS Destination vs Source port

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Cralis

QOS Destination vs Source port

Post by Cralis »

I am new to Gargoyle AND QOS, but here goes.

I have box that downloaded from newsgroups. It uses SSL on port 563 to any news server.

I'd like to enable QOS for download (only?) and ensure that traffic from a particular IP on my network (192.168.1.120 - which the the box that downloads) is bottom of the food chain.

So, I select QOS Download, and enable QOS. It has a few defaults. 80, 443 and 53 (Why 53?).

So, I add a new rule.

Now I get confused. Surely destination port should be set to 563... but the defaults have "source IP" set for the defaults. Do I not connect TO 563, which is the destination? Or, is it saying that we are SOURCING the data from 563 (on the destination server - the news server)?

Bottom line - do I set the Source Port to 563, the Destination IP to 192.168.1.120 (My download box), and the class to Slow? Will the ensure that any news server downloads get throttled when browsing?
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

Lantis

Re: QOS Destination vs Source port

Post by Lantis »

When you are downloading, SOURCE is the port used by the server, DESTINATION is the port used by your device. Same rule applies for up IP addresses.

Your idea of how to setup the rule makes sense to me :)

As for the default rule of 53, that is the port used for DNS. We want DNS requests to be quick and snappy.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Cralis

Post by Cralis »