Restriction exceptions not working

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Elecmuso
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 5:11 am

Restriction exceptions not working

Post by Elecmuso »

I'm running 1.9.x and thought all was doing as expceted, then realised my restrictions weren't working.
If I select
Firewall->Restrictions-New Restriction Rule
and select All, then activate the rule, that works fine - no devices have access.
If I then edit, change All Hosts to All Hosts except x.x.x.x then enter and save ANY IP address, it enables ALL devices on the network, not just the one that was intended.
Is this a known issue or something that is a WIP?
A similar thing seems to happen when I select a time range rather than 'All Day. Every Day'
Cheers

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4849
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Restriction exceptions not working

Post by ispyisail »

screen shots please

Elecmuso
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 5:11 am

Re: Restriction exceptions not working

Post by Elecmuso »

This works and stops everything from having access.
http://i1088.photobucket.com/albums/i32 ... ih1xwa.png

This results in ALL devices to be excepted and therefore have access (instead of just the one specified).
http://i1088.photobucket.com/albums/i32 ... 22qffz.png

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4849
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Restriction exceptions not working

Post by ispyisail »

In my opinion 75% of problems with gargoyle are a broken config.

You could first try "fail-safe reset" or re-flash a new fresh install than try again.

Don't use any backup files or preserver settings when re-configuring.

Recommend the lasted stable firmware

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=11036

Just because of where it is in the development cycle this this is the most stable build ever.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4849
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Restriction exceptions not working

Post by ispyisail »

Forgot to ask, are you using a 4 meg router?

if so you need to use 1.6.2

Elecmuso
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 5:11 am

Re: Restriction exceptions not working

Post by Elecmuso »

I'm using a WR1043ND V3.

peterpux
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 2:18 pm

Re: Restriction exceptions not working

Post by peterpux »

I've got same problem on 1.9.2 on a WNDR3800.

When I make restriction for specific ip, or for all except, it has no effect.

Haven't found solution
From Nunavik, Quebec, Canada
WNDR 3800 with Gargoyle 1.10.x Dec 18
WNDR 3800 Repeater with Gargoyle 1.10.x

tals
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:27 am

Re: Restriction exceptions not working

Post by tals »

Agreed, I don't think the restrictions work at all. Set the full restriction works fine but as soon as you add an exception that seems to open it up. The two I have tried are everything restricted with the exception of one web address, made no difference all were allowed and tried with the ip instead same result.

This was from a reflashed 1.9.2 (no config copy) on WNDR3800.
Netgear wndr3700 v2 Gargoyle 1.8.0
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 1.10.X (Built 20180122-0707)

altso8
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:30 pm

Re: Restriction exceptions not working

Post by altso8 »

I flashed Gargoyle 1.10.0 onto TPLink WR1043V1 and tested the restriction "All hosts except" still does not seem to work. Force Clients to use DNS Servers ,unchecked. "All Hosts Except" IP , Remote Port Block Only, 53. Hosts with different DNS doesn't get blocked. Seems to be an ongoing problem from previous versions.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4849
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Restriction exceptions not working

Post by ispyisail »


Post Reply