Minimum throttle bandwidth

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

logger
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:09 am

Minimum throttle bandwidth

Postby logger » Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:49 pm

Hi I need some advice on what throttle bandwidth setting will hobble my users wihtout totally making their connection unusable.

In my home we have a miserly 45GB per month at 25MBs during daytime hours so I need to ration carefully. So I have set daily quotas to ~ 300mb each user.

Can someone give me a guide as to what Throttle speed will give very slow but working connection for email and webrowsing but would make video impractical. Is 20 kBytes/s about what I would need.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4305
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Minimum throttle bandwidth

Postby Lantis » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:28 am

Do you have Chrome installed?
If you press F12 to open the developer menu, then go to the Performance tab, click the cog in the top right.
You can set the Network speed. Create a custom speed with the restriction you think might work and see if it meets your needs.

I just tried out 160kbps (20kByte/s) like you initially suggested.
It took 17s worth of page loading alone to navigate from my home page to your forum thread. That was a bearable but frustrating.
A youtube video at 360p quality took about 30 seconds to buffer, but then it played fine at this resolution.

This one might be a bit of try and see and experimentation. But please post back with what settings you ultimately decide on, it may help someone else in the future.
WRT1900AC V1 on 1.10.X
WNDR3800/WRT3200ACM in a constant state of flux
www.lantisproject.com for custom builds and other projects
www.lantisproject.com/gargoyle_ispyisail/ for the latest releases

logger
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:09 am

Re: Minimum throttle bandwidth

Postby logger » Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:42 am

Thanks Lantis, yes I do use Chrome so I have done as you have suggested and am testing to see how things go. I had no appreciation of the conversion ratio between kbps kByte/s either so thanx for pointing that out too.
So far the 20kByte/s is looking workable.


Return to “Monitoring / Quota / QoS Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests