can't access 192.168.1.1

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
varnco
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:31 am

can't access 192.168.1.1

Post by varnco »

I have a TL-wr1043nd router with Gargoyle pre-installed, but I can't access it via 192.168.1.1, as it states to do.

I've tried the reset button to no avail.

The * button is constantly lit, and the instructions indicate it's some sort of error.

Thanks for any help.

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: can't access 192.168.1.1

Post by nworbnhoj »

You will need to have a cable connecting a LAN port on your router with the ethernet port on your PC

Disconnect your PC from other networks (ie wireless)

You may need to manually configure the ethernet port on your PC to be 192.168.1.2
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

varnco
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:31 am

Re: can't access 192.168.1.1

Post by varnco »

I will try again later tonight. I tried a different PC, using an Ethernet cable from PC to router, an no dice. 192-168.1.1 can't connect.

Is the asterisk light supposed to be solid? I think not?

ektus
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 2:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: can't access 192.168.1.1

Post by ektus »

varnco wrote:I will try again later tonight. I tried a different PC, using an Ethernet cable from PC to router, an no dice. 192-168.1.1 can't connect.

Is the asterisk light supposed to be solid? I think not?


On my TP-Link Routers running Gargoyle, both the power led and the sys led (first and second from the left) are constantly lit as soon as the router's boot process is finished. The sys led (asterisk on newer routers) blinks during the boot process.

Short press to the reset button doesn't more than a power cycle. To reset the system settings to defaults it has to be pressed longer and/or keep it pressed during power up, don't know which.

Regards
Ektus.

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: can't access 192.168.1.1

Post by nworbnhoj »

Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

User avatar
dlogictech
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:50 pm
Location: Unionville, Ontario. Canada.
Contact:

Re: can't access 192.168.1.1

Post by dlogictech »

varnco wrote:I have a TL-wr1043nd router with Gargoyle pre-installed, but I can't access it via 192.168.1.1, as it states to do.

I've tried the reset button to no avail.

The * button is constantly lit, and the instructions indicate it's some sort of error.

Thanks for any help.


Were you able to get your WR1043ND working?

If not try this:
My router somehow got into a quasi bricked state and I had to perform a recovery by following the below instructions.
My router is TP-Link TL-WR1043ND Ver. 1.6
Had to get the router into OpenWRT failsafe mode
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVIrpJVebyE

Power up the router
Press the QSS button and hold the front after the sys led starts to flash and wait till the flashing starts to flash faster.
After the SYS led started fast flashing faster I connected my PC via Ethernet cable
- set static IP address to 192.168.1.66, subnet 255.255.255.0
- from console: telnet 192.168.1.1
- (openWRT console opens, yay!)
-
mtd -r erase rootfs_data
(to erase all user data
- after this the router reboots and gargoyle magically appears!
D-Link DIR-835 Rev. A1 using Gargoyle
1.9.X (Built 20160524-1903 git@004a64c)

TP-Link TL-WR1043ND Ver. 1.6 using Gargoyle
1.9.1

TP-Link TL-WR740N Ver. 1.10 using Gargoyle
1.9.1

Post Reply