OpenVPN Connection List

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

JeffinTx

OpenVPN Connection List

Post by JeffinTx »

I'm new to Gargoyle, but loving it. I'm struggling with OpenVPN though. I have a working Gargoyle router, a TP-Link TL-WR1043 purchased directly from Eric with his original configuraton 1.8.1.
  • I have OpenVPN running as a server. Good.
    I have a laptop connected through one of the LAN ports, a USB in the shared storage, and a Desktop (running Fedora 23) connected through the VPN server. All good.
    The VPN'd desktop can get shares from the laptop, can get the shared storage from the USB, can even get to the Gargoyle GUI through its LAN port. All good.
    The Connection List on the GUI shows my laptop and shows the VPN'd desktop, albeit as "unknown". Okay.
    The only problem I have is that the OpenVPN Status shows "No Clients Connected." Even when I ssh into the router (from the VPN'd machine or the laptop, both work) I see that the entire /var/openvpn folder is missing.
I have screenshots if needed. Have I done something wrong? Is this a bug?

JeffInTx

ispyisail

Re: OpenVPN Connection List

Post by ispyisail »

There are a few things in your post that don't make sense

are you using an OpenVPN client from here?

https://openvpn.net/index.php/open-sour ... loads.html

JeffinTx

Post by JeffinTx »

Without manually compiling and deploying, which is a pain, I can't use any of those versions on my Fedora desktop. I'm using the NetworkManager plugin for OpenVPN, successfully with other OpenVPN servers.

I also get in with my iPhone, running the OpenVPN app on iOS 9.2.1

Again, the connections seem okay, but the router doesn't show them to be there. Nothing in the Connection List on the GUI and no folder or symlink in a shell display.

ispyisail

Post by ispyisail »

Is the problem the server or client?

I'm suggesting using a windows machine with the listed client above.