Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4705
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby ispyisail » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:14 pm

Err...I could, but not sure how it will help.


Pictures are unbelievably good

http://getgreenshot.org/

store the pictures in http://imgur.com/ via greenshot

then paste the link in this forum via

Code: Select all

[img]http://i.imgur.com/k3bygzx.png[/img]


Image

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4705
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby ispyisail » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:16 pm

No doubt you can convey the same message with words but sometimes you only get 30 seconds of Eric time so you need to make it count.

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby tapper » Mon Mar 30, 2015 4:31 pm

Just got my n750 and flashed it to the latest 1.7.1 and here is what my page lookslike.
I will paste the text as i am blind and cant do screen shot sorry.

Gargoyle
Router
Managbement
Utility
Device Name: Gargoyle
Device Configuration
Configure Device As:
Gateway (Default)
Wireless Bridge/Repeater
Wireless Bridge/Repeater
Bridge IP:
192.168.1.4 (must be in AP subnet)
Subnet Mask:
255.255.255.0 (same as AP mask)
AP/Gateway IP:
192.168.1.1
Wan Ethernet Port:
Disable
DNS Servers:
Use Gateway As DNS Server
Connect Via Client Bridge
Repeater:
Repeater Enabled
Operation Mode:
N+G+B
Channel Width:
40MHz (2nd chan. above)
Transmit Power:
Max   30 (0 - 30dBm)
SSID to Join:
tapper's net
Scan
SSID to Broadcast:
Gargoyle
Wireless Channel:
1
Encryption:
WPA2 PSK
Password:
●●●●●●●●
Save Changes Reset
Status
Connection
Basic
OpenVPN
Tor
Dynamic DNS
Routing
Wake on LAN
Firewall
System
Logout
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

edu
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 4:09 am

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby edu » Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:29 pm

tapper: Did you installed any theme and/or language?
It happened to me once. A factory reset fixed it.

TL-WRD4300 ver 1.7, running 1.7.1 ispy build from 28/03/2015

lepgargoyle
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:10 pm

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby lepgargoyle » Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:19 pm

Hi griftopia,

I remember having a similar issue with a wd my net n750 and openwrt bb firmware using luci web gui. Basically I had to force the 40mhz channel width for 5Ghz via command line. Also I've only ran the n750 in AP mode not client bridge; do you notice the same issue in AP mode? In any case you should be able to force 40mhz channel by editing /etc/config/wireless. For AP mode this my 5Ghz config (ispyisail latest 1.7.x release [3/26]):
***
config wifi-device 'radio1'
option type 'mac80211'
option channel '36'
option hwmode '11a'
option path 'pci0000:00/0000:00:00.0'
option htmode 'HT40+'
***
http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/uci/wireless

HT20 (single 20MHz channel),
HT40- (2x 20MHz channels, primary/control channel is upper, secondary channel is below)
HT40+ (2x 20MHz channels, primary/control channel is lower, secondary channel is above).

griftopia
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:10 am

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby griftopia » Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:06 pm

tapper wrote:Hi this mite help:
The thing about the 40MHz (2nd chan. below) Menes that if you set your
channel to 6 then it will bond channel 6 and channel 3. If you set your channel to 6 and choose 40MHz (2nd chan. above)
then it will bond channel 6 and channel 8. At least that is how i understand it to be.

That is for 2.4 GHZ for 5 GHZ the same thing gos on!


So if I say 36, it will "bond" with 39...if I use "above". "below" wouldn't make sense on 5GHz because 36 is the lowest channel right? 33 wouldn't make sense. Ergo, whenever I get it to work, I should select the "above" setting. Do I have this right?
ISP Provided Router [Irrelevant]
WD MyNetN750 Client Bridge - Garygoyle @ 5.0Ghz Yes !!!

griftopia
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:10 am

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby griftopia » Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:09 pm

lepgargoyle wrote:Hi griftopia,

I remember having a similar issue with a wd my net n750 and openwrt bb firmware using luci web gui. Basically I had to force the 40mhz channel width for 5Ghz via command line. Also I've only ran the n750 in AP mode not client bridge; do you notice the same issue in AP mode? In any case you should be able to force 40mhz channel by editing /etc/config/wireless. For AP mode this my 5Ghz config (ispyisail latest 1.7.x release [3/26]):
***
config wifi-device 'radio1'
option type 'mac80211'
option channel '36'
option hwmode '11a'
option path 'pci0000:00/0000:00:00.0'
option htmode 'HT40+'
***
http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/uci/wireless

HT20 (single 20MHz channel),
HT40- (2x 20MHz channels, primary/control channel is upper, secondary channel is below)
HT40+ (2x 20MHz channels, primary/control channel is lower, secondary channel is above).


Yes, same trouble in AP mode. I tried it just to see if set the channel, but no dice. I will try your suggestion to manually configure. I didn't want to earlier because I didn't want to mess things up, but I'll take backup of the config file and then try. God knows how the UI will render the setting after I do that though. Hope it does not crash rendering UI useless. But I guess if that happens I could always ssh into router and restore things back. Right?

Finally, a couple of clarifications. radio1 is the 5Ghz and radio0 is 2.5GHz? Maybe my 5Ghz is disabled ?!?!?! Finally what is hardware mode 11a? is that equivalent to N+A?

Thanks.
ISP Provided Router [Irrelevant]
WD MyNetN750 Client Bridge - Garygoyle @ 5.0Ghz Yes !!!

griftopia
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:10 am

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby griftopia » Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:26 pm

Who do I kiss? 8-)

I changed it by hand. UI likes it and shows I have it set at "40 above". And now....<insert drum roll here please>...the output from iwconfig

wlan1 IEEE 802.11an ESSID:"XXX"
Mode:Managed Frequency:5.18 GHz Access Point: 58:6D:8F:F2:D2:4C
Bit Rate=405 Mb/s Tx-Power=14 dBm
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off



Tra-la la-la la...
ISP Provided Router [Irrelevant]
WD MyNetN750 Client Bridge - Garygoyle @ 5.0Ghz Yes !!!

griftopia
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:10 am

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby griftopia » Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:36 pm

ispyisail wrote:
Err...I could, but not sure how it will help.


Pictures are unbelievably good

http://getgreenshot.org/

store the pictures in http://imgur.com/ via greenshot

then paste the link in this forum via

Code: Select all

[img]http://i.imgur.com/k3bygzx.png[/img]




Very useful tip. Will remember for next time. For now, I've solved all my problems. :D
ISP Provided Router [Irrelevant]
WD MyNetN750 Client Bridge - Garygoyle @ 5.0Ghz Yes !!!

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5203
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Ver 1.7 Channel Width of 40MHz @ 5GHz for Wireless N

Postby Lantis » Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:01 pm

Bookmark this thread friend. If you make any changes that overwrite this config it will probably default back to before so you'll have to do it again.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases


Return to “Network / Wireless Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests