wifi not usable on TP-LINK WR1043ND / 1.5.11

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
ocaz78
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:40 pm

wifi not usable on TP-LINK WR1043ND / 1.5.11

Post by ocaz78 »

I have a TP-LINK WR1043ND V1 router and the wifi is not useable, it cuts all the time.

Which firmware version should i use. I really not absolute stable wifi

thanks

sheriffy
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:18 pm

Re: wifi not usable on TP-LINK WR1043ND / 1.5.11

Post by sheriffy »

ocaz78 wrote:I have a TP-LINK WR1043ND V1 router and the wifi is not useable, it cuts all the time.


Is your wifi totally down, or in the webgui you see the wifi connection with a connection speed of only 1Mb ?

ocaz78
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:40 pm

Re: wifi not usable on TP-LINK WR1043ND / 1.5.11

Post by ocaz78 »

sheriffy wrote:
ocaz78 wrote:I have a TP-LINK WR1043ND V1 router and the wifi is not useable, it cuts all the time.


Is your wifi totally down, or in the webgui you see the wifi connection with a connection speed of only 1Mb ?


speed is not great but that's not the problem, the wifi really goes down and on console you see this :

[ 4458.060000] ath: phy0: DMA failed to stop in 10 ms AR_CR=0x00000024 AR_DIAG_SW=0x42000020 DMADBG_7=0x000084c0
[ 4458.070000] ath: phy0: Could not stop RX, we could be confusing the DMA engine when we start RX up
[ 4459.480000] ath: phy0: Failed to stop TX DMA, queues=0x104!

sheriffy
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:18 pm

Re: wifi not usable on TP-LINK WR1043ND / 1.5.11

Post by sheriffy »

OK that is a different problem with wifi i have with my wndr3700v2.

My wifi stays up but the RX speed drops to 1Mb, but keeps functioning at that low speed.
I thought it was related to the amount of data wich is transferred, but that is not the case. The problem is only with my foscam camera on wifi. If i connect the camera with wire to my wifi repeater wich can be configured as wireless client i have no problem at all.
So data transfer is not the issue, there seems to be something uncompatilble between te gargoyle / dd-wrt and some wifi devices.
It is not the wifi device in the camera because the same router with stock firmware on it functions problem free.

ocaz78
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:40 pm

Re: wifi not usable on TP-LINK WR1043ND / 1.5.11

Post by ocaz78 »

the only ugly solution i have found for now is to have a software watchdog restart the wifi every time there is a kernel error. i just can't believe that the problem is arround for at least 3 years and no one fixes it...

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
/sbin/logread -f | while read line; do
   echo $line | grep -q 'ath: phy0:'  && (echo "$line RESTARTING WIFI">> /var/log/wifi.log; /sbin/wifi)
done

User avatar
chigo58
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 5:09 am

Re: wifi not usable on TP-LINK WR1043ND / 1.5.11

Post by chigo58 »

Follow the goo.gl link in my signature. That version has very stable wifi on my 1043ND's.
x2 Archer C5,C7 - Stock | x1 TL-WA730RE v1 - Openwrt 14.07 | x2 TL-WR1043ND v1.7 - Gargoyle v1.6.X http://goo.gl/VMbxcH | x2 WRT54GL v1.1 Tomato v1.28.7821 MIPSR1-Toastman-ND, 14929_vpn | x1 WHR-HP-G54 - Gargoyle 1.4.7

ocaz78
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:40 pm

Re: wifi not usable on TP-LINK WR1043ND / 1.5.11

Post by ocaz78 »

does not work link to dropbox 404

Post Reply