Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: 300mbps mode Disappeared!?

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

roadie
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:54 am

Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: 300mbps mode Disappeared!?

Post by roadie »

Hey guys,

I've not had any luck solving an issue that has cropped up with my router running Gargoyle. I initially described it here:

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3653&p=16384#p16384

After running Gargoyle successfully for over 3 months, I upgraded from 1.5.8 to 1.5.9 without saving settings in the process described in the link above. After doing so the 2nd wireless radio in the router doesn't seem to be spitting out a signal. Even after a reset to default configurations and downgrading back to 1.5.8, the 2nd wireless radio still doesn't seem to function. inSSIDer can only see a signal being put out on one channel and the Windows network status reports only a 130mbps speed instead of 300mbps like before.

Just to clarify, channel width is set to 40Mhz with the 2nd channel above (it's on 6)

Has anyone come across anything like this before? Some help would be gratefully received.

Thank you!

----

Edited Subject title to accurately reflect problem.
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH + Gargoyle 1.5.9

roadie
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:54 am

Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: Wireless Radio 2 Disappeared!?

Post by roadie »

I have been receiving some detailed information on the Buffalo forum which is great.

Hopefully the issue with the ath9k driver are fixed within Open WRT and rolled into Gargoyle swiftly. In the meantime I will stick with setting the router to 20Mhz on one channel. I pick up over 50(!) other networks in my flat.

http://forums.buffalotech.com/t5/Wireless/WZR-HP-G300NH-2nd-Wireless-Radio-Gone/m-p/114460#M15272
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH + Gargoyle 1.5.9

Gr3y
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:10 pm

Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: Wireless Radio 2 Disappeared!?

Post by Gr3y »

I have a similar problem on my WNDR3700.

When I pick a channel above 36 for the 5Ghz radio, inSSIDer can't see any signals what so ever. So it's like the radio turns off when the channel is >36.

The 2.4 radio works fine no matter the channel.

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: Wireless Radio 2 Disappeared!?

Post by DoesItMatter »

You're describing it wrong.

I edited the subject line a bit to reflect the correct problem.

The WZR-HP-G300NH only has 1 wireless radio, but it can
do 40 mhz and use 2 channels.

With the newer builds of Gargoyle and OpenWRT - they have
enforced the CRDA regulatory restrictions, which means you can't
always bypass and allow 40mhz mode.

If you compile your own builds - you can bypass the regulatory
restrictions via a setting in the "make menuconfig" and allow
that option in OpenWRT

There is also a way to do this when compiling your own Gargoyle build

See this post: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=3231
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

roadie
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:54 am

Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: 300mbps mode Disappeared!?

Post by roadie »

Apologies for the delay inn replying but thanks for the detail!

Not sure compiling my own builds is something I feel comfortable with. Honestly, even getting Gargoyle on the router in the first place was work enough! I may just stick with using 1 channel for now, as it doesn't seem to have negatively impacted performance...

Hopefully the CRDA bypass can be integrated into Gargoyle official in the near future?
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH + Gargoyle 1.5.9

Buffalo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: 300mbps mode Disappeared!?

Post by Buffalo »

how exactly can we get 300 mbps on the Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH ? please help :/ it is an old but really good router. the only thing i am missing is the 300mbps wireless. I can try to compile myself but i need to know what to change in the source code. any help will make me happy :)

EDIT (2013/02/05) : Channels 12 and 13 are now enabled using the patch (https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php ... 21#p190221) that DoesItMatter showed me but still I can't set my wireless network to 40Mhz. When I setup everything on the router and press "save changes", inSSIDer shows me that the Gargoyle network is 9 + 13 channels for ~5 seconds and then switches to only channel 9. Why doesn't it stay 9 + 13? Thank you for your help.

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: 300mbps mode Disappeared!?

Post by DoesItMatter »

See this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=979

Have to also use the "noscan" option via command line

NOTE!!!

You have to configure all your wireless settings how you want it to be
before editing the config files via command line!

If you make any wifi changes via the GUI, any command line changes
will be erased and you have to re-do them!
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

Buffalo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: 300mbps mode Disappeared!?

Post by Buffalo »

DoesItMatter wrote:See this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=979

Have to also use the "noscan" option via command line

NOTE!!!

You have to configure all your wireless settings how you want it to be
before editing the config files via command line!

If you make any wifi changes via the GUI, any command line changes
will be erased and you have to re-do them!


Already tried that:
https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php ... 69#p136569

Another thing I tried was changing the contry code:
https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php ... 94#p162494

Nothing helps. When the router boots up it shows that the network is channels 7 + 11 (I was trying to change the channels but it didn't help) for about 5 seconds and then it changes to channel 7 only. Could this be a problem of the router driver? When I connect to another wireless n ap my laptop shows 300mbps but the gargoyle powered router gives me only 130mbps. I am happy with gargoyle and I don't wan't to flash dd-wrt because it wasn't stable on my router. Please help me solve this issue. Thanks.

root@Gargoyle:~# cat /etc/config/wireless

config wifi-device 'radio0'
option type 'mac80211'
option macaddr 'XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX'
option hwmode '11ng'
list ht_capab 'SHORT-GI-40'
list ht_capab 'DSSS_CCK-40'
option noscan '1'
option channel '7'
option htmode 'HT40+'

config wifi-iface 'ap_g'
option device 'radio0'
option mode 'ap'
option network 'lan'
option ssid 'Gargoyle'
option encryption 'psk2'
option key 'XXXXXXXX'

config wifi-iface 'stacfg'
option device 'radio0'
option mode 'sta'
option network 'wan'
option key 'XXXXXXXX'
option ssid 'XXX-XXXXXX'
option encryption 'psk2'

My primary router is wireless n 300mbps.

roadie
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:54 am

Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: 300mbps mode Disappeared!?

Post by roadie »

I really hope 300Mbps mode and the additional channels can be added and enabled in the next release of Gargoyle.
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH + Gargoyle 1.5.9

Buffalo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: 300mbps mode Disappeared!?

Post by Buffalo »

I don't mind not having the additional channels because at home I have no interference. The most important thing for me is the 300mbps throughput. I have bought this router because it has 300mbps. But now it's like having a Buggati Veiron but not being able to go any faster than 130 km/h.

Post Reply