DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

pigstacho
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:19 am

DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby pigstacho » Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:56 am

Hi,

First, since this is my first post in this forum, I would like to congratulate you a creating a great firmware with lots of features and a working and friendly QoS.

I've been having an issue with my first attempt to use your firmware, been using DD-WRT for about 3 or 4 years but decided to change to yours because DD-WRT QoS implementation is terrible, so I grabbed a DIR-601 and downloaded 1.3.16 for DIR-600, used an HEX editor to change HWID and flashed it using the D-LINK Firmware Recovery page, everything went smoothly and I had a working QoS in no time.

Here comes the problem, after about 2 days of having no issue with the router, suddenly I have no internet access, went ahead and restarted the router, still no internet connection, I could get to Gargoyle admin page and verify there was an IP in the WAN side (Router is using DHCP for WAN and is connected to a Motorola surfboard cable modem from the ISP), went ahead and restarted Cable Modem and Router, still no Internet Access, SSH into Router and verified with ifconfig the IPs, still no Internet even from inside the router. Replaced the router with a DD-WRT router and everything worked fine.

After a couple of days I had some spare time so I went ahead and Restored Defaults in the router, the router never started Gargoyle again (the power light blinked forever), so I flashed it back to D-Link firmware and back to Gargoyle again, connected it to the Cable Modem and everything worked again...for 1 day, again has the same problem were it get the DHCP from de ISP but I cant access Internet, tried disabling QoS, Wireless, and everything I changed and rebooted and the problem persists.

I'm not a Linux guy so I don't know what else to do, I can help debug the problem if you can guide me into where to look for the problem.

Regards,

Eduardo Peccorini

pigstacho
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:19 am

Re: DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby pigstacho » Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:17 pm

Really, no one can help me debug this?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4632
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby ispyisail » Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:59 pm

I have a similar problem with my DIR-300 with the current test firmware (1.3.16)

1.2.5 works fine with my DIR-300. I wonder if there is a problem with 4MB flash size and the current firmware with Atheros chipsets?

I would suggest flashing your device with the latest Openwrt to see if you get he same result?

pigstacho
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:19 am

Re: DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby pigstacho » Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:58 am

Thanks for your reply, I just found the new 1.4.0 release today when checking this tread, so I will test it right now and I will report back, if the problem persists I will take your suggestion and try OpenWRT.

By the way, is OpenWRT a big difference from DD-WRT for the test?

Regards,

Edurardo Peccorini

pigstacho
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:19 am

Re: DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby pigstacho » Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:11 pm

Just to update on the issue, its been over 2 days with the new 1.4.0 firmware and the problem hasn't shown, so I guess its now fixed.

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby DoesItMatter » Mon Aug 22, 2011 2:32 pm

Nice - I have one of these shipping right now.

D-Link - DIR-601 - found some refurbs for $18.99 with free shipping.

Was looking for a 2nd device to test Gargoyle/OpenWRT on.

As soon as it arrives it will be getting 1.4.0 installed.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby DoesItMatter » Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:56 am

Bumping for this:

http://www.txmicro.com/D-Link-DIR-601-1 ... -5205.html

If you are looking for a cheap router that works with
Gargoyle 1.4.0 and has a decent amount of memory and CPU

Grab this one - $18.99 - free shipping.

I put mine in factory recovery mode, flashed the Gargoyle 1.4.0
Factory.bin firmware and I was up and running in a few minutes!

This router has a nice snappy web interface - runs quite nice.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

MisterB
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:56 pm

Re: DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby MisterB » Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:04 pm

Could you possibly give me some help with how you edited the firmware? My hex editing skills are not too good and I cannot find where to change the HWID. When you say you flashed it it the recovery page, do you mean where you set your computer to static IP and then hardware reset it? I am have gaming issues (Starcraft 2) with my dir-601 router and was hoping this might help.

Thanks

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby DoesItMatter » Sat Sep 03, 2011 4:37 am

MisterB,

You put the router in recovery mode by unplugging the router,
hold the reset button in (keep holding it in) and plug it back in,
then keep holding until you see power light constant flashing.

At that point, go into your network config and set your computer IP
to 192.168.0.50 and you can access the emergency recovery page
at 192.168.0.1 - thats where I flashed the gargoyle firmware image.

I flashed the gargoyle factory firmware for the dir-600
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

MisterB
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:56 pm

Re: DIR-601 (DIR-600 firmware) no Internet Access

Postby MisterB » Sun Sep 04, 2011 1:58 am

Thanks for the help. It took a few tries to get it right. I tried the 1.4.1. download and it didn't work but the 1.4.0 works great. I did have to reset the router to factory defaults 1st. I couldn't connect to it at 192.168.0.1 until I did. My VoIP phone service works with less issues and Starcraft 2 and Battlenet worked without drops.

Thanks a lot. :)


Return to “Network / Wireless Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests