Subnet mask and DHCP server

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
pkkrusty
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:41 pm

Subnet mask and DHCP server

Post by pkkrusty »

I couldn't find anything from a quick search, but I have my DHCP server handing out addresses from 192.168.1.60-192.168.1.253 and then I changed my subnet mask to /23 and it's giving out 192.168.0.x in addition to the defined set. Is this normal behavior? I'm on 1.10.0, so maybe it's been fixed in the years since I first installed Gargoyle.

pkkrusty
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Subnet mask and DHCP server

Post by pkkrusty »

I think I'm probably running into a similar issue as viewtopic.php?f=11&t=12245&p=55415 but not sure. The assigned static IPs are assigned correctly, but it seems like the DHCP server is handing out in the 192.168.0.60-192.168.0.253 range.

I wonder if I change my router IP to 192.168.2.1, and have a /23 subnet mask, would Gargoyle hand out from the lower range, leaving me the upper range of 192.168.3.x to use for other things...

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6353
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Subnet mask and DHCP server

Post by Lantis »

Yes it is normal behaviour.
I think you should look at a subnet calculator to understand what is going on. You’ve asked it to use a /23 (255.255.254.0) and it is doing just that :)

Note that Gargoyle still isn’t well defined on subnets larger than a /24 so your mileage may vary
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

pkkrusty
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Subnet mask and DHCP server

Post by pkkrusty »

Lantis wrote:
Fri May 13, 2022 9:39 am
Yes it is normal behaviour.
I think you should look at a subnet calculator to understand what is going on. You’ve asked it to use a /23 (255.255.254.0) and it is doing just that :)

Note that Gargoyle still isn’t well defined on subnets larger than a /24 so your mileage may vary
I have it using a /23 mask, so it can deal with addresses from 192.168.0.1-192.168.1.254, right? But in the DHCP configuration page, I can only choose 192.168.1.x-xxx range of IP addresses (I guess because the IP address of the router is 192.168.1.1). However, the DHCP server hands out addresses in the 192.168.0.x-xxx range.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6353
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Subnet mask and DHCP server

Post by Lantis »

Lantis wrote:
Fri May 13, 2022 9:39 am
Note that Gargoyle still isn’t well defined on subnets larger than a /24 so your mileage may vary
The code doesn’t know what to do with it. It is designed for a /24
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

pkkrusty
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Subnet mask and DHCP server

Post by pkkrusty »

Ok, I can deal with that. I’ll just give out the range in the lower half.

Post Reply