Turning off DNS Caching

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5765
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by Lantis »

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NqHpRHl8gQ

Make sure you use SSH not Telnet if you’re on 1.10 or later.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

RomanHK
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by RomanHK »

Lantis wrote:Failsafe mode, then remove those two options. Reboot and see if it’s ok. Otherwise a full failsafe reset.
It won’t be a brick.

These choices work for me, he probably put it in the wrong place.
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

RomanHK
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by RomanHK »

pmerrill wrote:
Lantis wrote:Failsafe mode, then remove those two options. Reboot and see if it’s ok. Otherwise a full failsafe reset.
It won’t be a brick.

Ok, so can you provide a link about how to boot into failsafe mode?

When you get into failsafe mode, what you wrote to @Lantis, run the command via PuTTY:

Code: Select all

mtd -r erase rootfs_data
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5765
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by Lantis »

Why erase everything if only two lines caused a problem? It is worth trying to get those first
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

RomanHK
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by RomanHK »

Lantis wrote:Why erase everything if only two lines caused a problem? It is worth trying to get those first

I guess these two lines can't be the case - it's a dhcp v4 file and shouldn't have the catastrophic effect that the router won't boot.

EDIT: And if the router normally boot up, wouldn't it be enough to set up a static IP on the PC and fix the lines?

But good, let's try to erase the two lines first.
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

pmerrill
Posts: 290
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:23 pm

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by pmerrill »

Ok, got into failsafe mode ok. Changed the two lines back to the way they were, powered off the router, powered it back on and works fine now.

The changes I made were in the /etc/config/dhcp file in the dnsmasq section.

It's an Archer C7 V2 if that helps but it was those 2 lines that caused the problem.
Paul
Gargoyle 1.11.x on TP-Link Archer C7 V2 H/W

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5765
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by Lantis »

No idea, not my area of expertise and I’ve never looked into it. But it must now be comforting to know that you can recover your router if it goes wrong again :)
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

RomanHK
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by RomanHK »

This is really weird, it should work: https://oldwiki.archive.openwrt.org/doc/uci/dhcp

This option is included in OpenWrt LuCI:
Image
Image

Nothing, everyone can be wrong, so sorry :oops: .
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

pmerrill
Posts: 290
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:23 pm

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by pmerrill »

RomanHK wrote:This is really weird, it should work: https://oldwiki.archive.openwrt.org/doc/uci/dhcp

This option is included in OpenWrt LuCI:
Image
Image

Nothing, everyone can be wrong, so sorry :oops: .

Not to worry, no harm done. What was curious was that with the changes the router booted fine, all the lights were flashing like it was working but no way could I connect and there was no access to the internet either.

I'll keep doing some research and see if I can sort it out.
Paul
Gargoyle 1.11.x on TP-Link Archer C7 V2 H/W

pmerrill
Posts: 290
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:23 pm

Re: Turning off DNS Caching

Post by pmerrill »

So this is getting very strange now and given my personality, I ain't giving up! So here's the curious thing, if I login to the router and do nslookup twitch.tv I can see it return 195.46.39.1, which is a block page from safedns.

If I go to my PC and I do nslookup twitch.tv from cmd, then I get
> nslookup twitch.tv
Server: Gargoyle.lan
Address: 192.168.1.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: twitch.tv
Addresses: 151.101.130.167
151.101.66.167
151.101.194.167
151.101.2.167

So then I went back to the router and executed
# killall -1 dnsmasq

which I understand will clear the router DNS cache

I then did a lookup of twitch.tv again and it came back with the same 195.46.39.1 and yet nslookup twitch.tv from my PC (via cmd window) still returns 151.101.66.167. Yet, if I enter twitch.tv from my google browser on my phone connected to wifi, it comes back with "This site can't be reached".

Ideas???
Paul
Gargoyle 1.11.x on TP-Link Archer C7 V2 H/W

Post Reply