Archer C7 V2 performance wirelles below standard

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
cleber.barros
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:39 am

Archer C7 V2 performance wirelles below standard

Post by cleber.barros »

Hi,

I have an Archer C7 V2 and I installed the gargoyle version 1.11 final. it is working well. But I realized that the wirelles performance is below the original firmware. My wirelles card is a Tp-link 881ND and in the original firmware the 2.4G network reached the download speed of 160mb or 20MB / s transfer and with the gargoyle I am getting maximum to 100mb or 12MB / s. I changed the channels, I forced the channel width 40MHZ, but I'm not even close to the original firmware. Could someone help me?

RomanHK
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Archer C7 V2 performance wirelles below standard

Post by RomanHK »

The solution is, of course, but you would violate the RFC (802.11) standard.
20/40MHz (auto) is a standard. :(
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

top_s
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:09 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Archer C7 V2 performance wirelles below standard

Post by top_s »

If im not mistaken, gargoyle disables 40mhz automatically when it detects interference with other networks, whitch is probably your case, unless you are in a rural area.

Also, keep in mind that Alternative firmwares will almost never be as fast as original firmwares due to hardware/software/driver optimization.
WDR4300 v1 (stock)
WR941nd v2 (1.9.2)
WA901nd v2 (1.6.2)
2x WR741nd (1.6.2)

(Up to) 1gbps up/down link

cleber.barros
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:39 am

Re: Archer C7 V2 performance wirelles below standard

Post by cleber.barros »

I thought it was strange because the cable is beating normal. And I used the gargoyle earlier on a TP-LINK 741ND, version 1.10. So, since I did not see this type of problem, neither wifi nor cable, I thought it was some optimization that might have been missing in Archer C7 V2. It is to wait and see if in the future some optimization comes out then. I'll hope for that.
Thanks for the help here in the forum.

top_s
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:09 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Archer C7 V2 performance wirelles below standard

Post by top_s »

741ND wireless' performance is already on the slow side, so the issue tends to be a lot more subtle....

C7v2 is a highly optimised device. It even figures in the recommended devices list of this website. The speed drop you see is probably due to the channel width capping at 20mhz. Don`t worry, reduces interference and improves wifi coverage (and even speed, when the signal is weak).

Some questions:
1- Those speedtests where made thru WAN os LAN?
2- Was QOS enabled?
3- How fast is your internet?

Network performance over wifi is always a thing.
As people say in my country: "Radio é só para música" -- "Radio is just for music"
WDR4300 v1 (stock)
WR941nd v2 (1.9.2)
WA901nd v2 (1.6.2)
2x WR741nd (1.6.2)

(Up to) 1gbps up/down link

Post Reply