75 Mbps

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

coits
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:58 am
Location: canada

75 Mbps

Post by coits »

Hi All,

I have Archer C7 v2 with 1.10 latest firmware, I just upgraded my internet connection to 75 Mbps.

But, when I do a speedtest, the max download will be playing between 50-55 Mbps. I don't know if QoS needs to be disabled in order to reach the 75 Mbps download.

Can someone please advise what process needs to be disabled? if you want QoS enabled.

Thanks in advance.
Gargoyle 1.9.x on Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Gargoyle 1.10.x on TP-Link Archer C7 v2.0
Gargoyle 1.11.x on WRT3200 acm

Rog66
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 4:53 pm

Re: 75 Mbps

Post by Rog66 »

are you connected wirelessly? If so and you're on 2.4Ghz you're at the max speed. Either connect on 5Ghz or use a wired connection.

if none of the above applies did you increase the total download bandwidth in your QOS settings ?

coits
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:58 am
Location: canada

Re: 75 Mbps

Post by coits »

I have tested it on my laptop wireless AC 5Ghz and
on my other laptop with wireless N 2.4 GHz.

QoS Download is 70000 Mpbs and upload is 5100 Mbps.

Wireless AC=Download is playing around 51-57 Mpbs
Wireless N=Download is playing between 47-52 Mbps

I will test it with wired tonight after I get's home from work.

Thanks for the input.
Gargoyle 1.9.x on Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Gargoyle 1.10.x on TP-Link Archer C7 v2.0
Gargoyle 1.11.x on WRT3200 acm

coits
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:58 am
Location: canada

Re: 75 Mbps

Post by coits »

Hi All,

I have tried to wired my laptop directly to the modem and I had a max download of 84Mbps.

Also Adjusted QoS to 75Mbps and upload to 7Mbps and test it wired directory to the router and Max Download it can get is only 68Mbps.

I guess the bottleneck of Archer C7 v2 is the processor speed.

Can someone please advise what process needs to be disabled? In order to attain the max download.

Want QoS to be running, please advise.

Thanks in advance.
Gargoyle 1.9.x on Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Gargoyle 1.10.x on TP-Link Archer C7 v2.0
Gargoyle 1.11.x on WRT3200 acm

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5525
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: 75 Mbps

Post by Lantis »

bwmon will get your speed back. But you will lose graphs.
I think QOS still functions ok without it
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Volaris
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: 75 Mbps

Post by Volaris »

Lantis wrote:bwmon will get your speed back. But you will lose graphs.
I think QOS still functions ok without it

This is good to know for those of us who never use graphs.
QoS Tip: Don't complicate your QoS settings. Gargoyle evenly splits available bandwidth between active devices as needed. Just delete all your classification rules and leave only one normal service class and you're done. No more arguing over bandwidth.

coits
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:58 am
Location: canada

Re: 75 Mbps

Post by coits »

I have disabled the bwmon and I finally get around 70 to 72 Mpbs download. Thanks Lantis for the tip.

Regards
Gargoyle 1.9.x on Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H
Gargoyle 1.10.x on TP-Link Archer C7 v2.0
Gargoyle 1.11.x on WRT3200 acm

d3fz
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:34 pm

Re: 75 Mbps

Post by d3fz »

Volaris wrote:
Lantis wrote:bwmon will get your speed back. But you will lose graphs.
I think QOS still functions ok without it

This is good to know for those of us who never use graphs.

coits wrote:I have disabled the bwmon and I finally get around 70 to 72 Mpbs download.

That's a really useful tip. I always thought that QoS relied on bwmon to work properly. Good to know that it doesn't. Graphs are great (when needed), but that extra download speed is better, imo.

@ispyisail, what do you say we add this to Gargoyle Tips & Tricks?
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 - Gargoyle 1.12.X
TP-Link WR842ND v2 - Gargoyle 1.10.X
TP-Link RE450 AC v2 - Stock FW 1.0.4
TP-Link WA850RE v1.2 - LEDE 17.01.1

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4809
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: 75 Mbps

Post by ispyisail »

@ispyisail, what do you say we add this to Gargoyle Tips & Tricks?


I'll add it if somebody provides instructions

d3fz
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:34 pm

Re: 75 Mbps

Post by d3fz »

Sure.

Basically, all you have to do is issue the following commands through SSH:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/bwmon_gargoyle stop
/etc/init.d/bwmon_gargoyle disable

Not sure if a reboot is necessary afterward, but I guess it's advised.
Beware that by doing so, you'll lose the ability to monitor/track bandwidth data, which will probably disable Quotas and all bandwidth graphs as well (as Lantis stated above).

You can always enable it back with the following commands:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/bwmon_gargoyle enable
/etc/init.d/bwmon_gargoyle start
Last edited by d3fz on Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 - Gargoyle 1.12.X
TP-Link WR842ND v2 - Gargoyle 1.10.X
TP-Link RE450 AC v2 - Stock FW 1.0.4
TP-Link WA850RE v1.2 - LEDE 17.01.1

Post Reply