Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Postby ispyisail » Thu Jun 08, 2017 4:23 am

Hi all

With 1.9.(2)x I think there is a SSID re-scan bug

If you select DHCP wireless

Image

Then scan and connect to a network

Image

everything works perfect.

but if you then want to connect to a new wireless network the "Scan" button no longer works.

Can somebody else confirm?

d3fz
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:34 pm

Re: Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Postby d3fz » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:34 pm

@ispyisail,

Was this bug verified/resolved?

I thought this thread was actually a new tutorial when I first saw it.

I can't test this right now, can anyone else confirm this?
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 - Gargoyle 1.10.X
TP-Link WR842ND v2 - Gargoyle 1.10.X
TP-Link RE450 AC v2 - Stock FW 1.0.4
TP-Link WA850RE v1.2 - LEDE 17.01.1

Tired of Chrome? Try Vivaldi - an advanced browser built for power users

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Postby ispyisail » Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:10 pm

I just done some more test and it seam to be working now

But some strange things still exist

Image

We have SSID double ups?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5098
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Postby Lantis » Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:58 am

I can’t reproduce this.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Postby ispyisail » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:03 pm

we are going forward so it probably doesn't matter anymore :)

as in, see if we can reproduce in the new version

ektus
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 2:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Postby ektus » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:49 pm

Lantis wrote:I can’t reproduce this.


I can. After running a scan, there are multiple duplicate entries in the list. The list currently has 48 entries (including "other"), while spectrum analyser shows a total 10 networks in the 2.4GHz band.

I can provide a screenshot and correspondimg "iw wlan1 scan" output if necessary. System: Archer C5 v1 running 1.10.X (Built 20171128-0318 git@fcbd169)

Who's responsible for generating that list? Gargoyle or OpenWRT?


Regards
Ektus.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5098
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Postby Lantis » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:03 pm

What are the exact steps to reproduce?
Do you need to be connected first? Is it a rescan only?
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

ektus
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 2:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Postby ektus » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:46 am

Lantis wrote:What are the exact steps to reproduce?
Do you need to be connected first? Is it a rescan only?


- connected via DHCP wireless (that's the normal mode of operation of this production router)
- "SCAN" to populate the list (without, only the connected SSID is visible, no list
- newly created list contains many duplicate entries
- "Re-Scan" won't change a thing, list remains bloated


Regards
Ektus.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5098
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Internet (WAN) via DHCP wireless

Postby Lantis » Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:09 am

Still can’t reproduce it.
Unless someone can debug it locally, it isn’t likely to be fixed.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases


Return to “Network / Wireless Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests