Lose 2.4ghz connection

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

mrpink57
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:42 pm
Location: a van down the river

Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by mrpink57 »

Having an all of a sudden strange issue.

My 2.4ghz wireless is "turning off" when it only has one client that is not active. The 5ghz is what is mainly used in our house with a few clients connectiong to 2.4 (chromecast and 3DS) which is rarely used.

https://github.com/kaloz/mwlwifi/issues/20
I saw this wifi issue and am not sure if this is what is effecting me, but when I view my logread I see a deauth from hostapd when this happens.

I am currently running a logread -f while at work to see what happens while I am away and can post that log when I get home.

My router is a 1900ac v1 running March 03 2017 Gargoyle-ispy, this was flashed from stock and I keep stock on the other parition.

Items I am using are:
DDNS
Tor
Samba
ACC QoS

For my wireless I am using N not AC and am using b+g for the 2.4ghz network. 5ghz is on channel 36 and 2.4ghz is on channel 6. We live an apartment in a dense urban area so the 2.4ghz is a mess when I view the spectrum analyzer.

mrpink57
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:42 pm
Location: a van down the river

Re: Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by mrpink57 »

I forgot to post a lot of follow up information on this. But so far I have pinpointed this to the guest wifi network.

I have this enabled as 2.4ghz only with WPA2 security and everytime I get home I see a bunch of deauths (4 way handshakes) on my logread. Once I disable this network everything seems to be working fine. I tried for the sake of testing putting my guest security at WPA and still getting deauth errors. I than tried via ssh/command line setting the security to wpa/wpa2 mixed and that disabled all wifi. As said before there is only one device connected that is mine to this network which is a 3DS. Every other device I own is on 5ghz network.

Any thoughts?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by ispyisail »

This is a question for Lantis

1900ac v1 and wifi drivers?

Is it a driver issue?

mrpink57
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:42 pm
Location: a van down the river

Re: Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by mrpink57 »

I am currently on your latest release April 01 2017.

Are there config files you want from me Lantis? I did not run a logread -f today, today I disabled guest wireless.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by Lantis »

Interestingly what you describe are the exact symptoms of a problem in early revisions of the driver.

If you'd like to share your config I'll take a look.
I don't think guest wireless should cause any problems but it might.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

mrpink57
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:42 pm
Location: a van down the river

Re: Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by mrpink57 »

/etc/config/wireless

Code: Select all


config wifi-device 'radio0'
        option type 'mac80211'
        option channel '11'
        option hwmode '11g'
        option path 'soc/soc:pcie-controller/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/0000:02:00$
        option htmode 'NONE'

config wifi-device 'radio1'
        option type 'mac80211'
        option channel '36'
        option hwmode '11a'
        option path 'soc/soc:pcie-controller/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.0/0000:03:00$
        option htmode 'VHT20'

config wifi-iface 'ap_g'
        option device 'radio0'
        option mode 'ap'
        option network 'lan'
        option disassoc_low_ack '0'
        option ssid 'shutyourface'
        option encryption 'psk2'
        option key 'password'

config wifi-iface 'ap_a'
        option device 'radio1'
        option mode 'ap'
        option network 'lan'
        option disassoc_low_ack '0'
        option ssid 'shutyourfacenow'
        option encryption 'psk2'
        option key 'password'
/etc/config/wireless with guest on

Code: Select all

config wifi-device 'radio0'
        option type 'mac80211'
        option channel '11'
        option hwmode '11g'
        option path 'soc/soc:pcie-controller/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/0000:02:00$
        option htmode 'NONE'

config wifi-device 'radio1'
        option type 'mac80211'
        option channel '36'
        option hwmode '11a'
        option path 'soc/soc:pcie-controller/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.0/0000:03:00$
        option htmode 'VHT20'

config wifi-iface 'ap_g'
        option device 'radio0'
        option mode 'ap'
        option network 'lan'
        option disassoc_low_ack '0'
        option ssid 'shutyourface'
        option encryption 'psk2'
        option key 'password'

config wifi-iface 'ap_gn_g'
        option device 'radio0'
        option mode 'ap'
        option network 'lan'
        option disassoc_low_ack '0'
        option is_guest_network '1'
        option macaddr 'xxxxxxxxxxxxxx'
        option ssid 'shutyourfaceguest'
        option isolate '1'
        option encryption 'psk2'
        option key 'tweezers'

config wifi-iface 'ap_a'
        option device 'radio1'
        option mode 'ap'
        option network 'lan'
        option disassoc_low_ack '0'
        option ssid 'shutyourfacenow'
        option encryption 'psk2'
        option key 'password'
/etc/config/network

Code: Select all

config interface 'loopback'
        option ifname 'lo'
        option proto 'static'
        option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
        option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config globals 'globals'
        option ula_prefix 'fd29:3355:26b7::/48'

config interface 'lan'
        option ifname 'eth0'
        option force_link '1'
        option type 'bridge'
        option proto 'static'
        option netmask '255.255.255.0'
        option ip6assign '60'
        option dns '8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4'
        option ipaddr '192.168.2.1'

config interface 'wan'
        option ifname 'eth1'
        option proto 'dhcp'
        option ipv6 '0'
        option dns '8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4'
        option peerdns '0'

config interface 'wan6'
        option ifname 'eth1'
        option proto 'dhcpv6'

config switch
        option name 'switch0'
        option reset '1'
        option enable_vlan '1'

config switch_vlan
        option device 'switch0'
        option vlan '1'
        option ports '0 1 2 3 5'

config switch_vlan
        option device 'switch0'
        option vlan '2'
        option ports '4 6'
I am running my 2.4ghz network at b+g not sure if that 'NONE' means anything it has happened before in previous revisions of ispy to me. Everything else is untouched via command line just through the GUI.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by ispyisail »

Have you tired a factory/failsafe reset (or re-flash)

Its a bit like a windows reboot sometimes...........

mrpink57
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:42 pm
Location: a van down the river

Re: Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by mrpink57 »

A couple times I have along with a reflash. I keep stock firmware on part 1 and gargoyle on part 2. I do not think this issue happened with Feb 27th firmware which I have not tested since my gf would not be too excited with the internet down all the time while I swap firmwares. Also I do not restort firmwares, the only thing I keep is hosts and ethers and manually do the rest.

My last flash was on Monday to April 1st firmware. As far as a failsafe I am not sure how to do that on my 1900ac.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by Lantis »

NONE implies only b+g, that's ok.
I'd be interested to know if you experience the same when enable N
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

mrpink57
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:42 pm
Location: a van down the river

Re: Lose 2.4ghz connection

Post by mrpink57 »

Previously I have experienced it with N enabled. This same exact issue happened with a WNDR3800 also so I am thinking it might be my settings more than just the 1900ac. I will swap to N thought to see what happens. I keep both at 20hz being in a big city.

Post Reply