Internet thorugh Wifi works, but router itself has no ping

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
daveaep
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 04, 2021 9:10 am

Internet thorugh Wifi works, but router itself has no ping

Post by daveaep »

Hi,

I have recently been installing Gargoyle 1.13.x on my Archer C7 V2. It works quite well, as I use it as an AP.
DHCP is disabled, and the router has a static IP.
My phone can connect through the wifi perfectly, however I saw that the clock doesn't update.
While logged in via SSH I tried to ping several IP addresses, (1.1.1.1 etc) but it seems there is no connection.

I am confused now, and am wondering how to fix this.

Router is connected through 1 of the 4 LAN ports through a switch to the main router.
It is in Gateway mode, DHCP disabled.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6026
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Internet thorugh Wifi works, but router itself has no ping

Post by Lantis »

It is in Gateway mode, DHCP disabled.
Can you confirm that "Connect Via" is set to "Disabled" as well please?

Usually this type of issue is solved by setting the Gateway and DNS to the upstream AP's IP address (the default is Gargoyle's IP).
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

daveaep
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 04, 2021 9:10 am

Re: Internet thorugh Wifi works, but router itself has no ping

Post by daveaep »

Thanks for the reply!

I had 'connected via' set to: Static IP (wired) as I thought that was the way to go.

In the meantime I used my Synology NAS as a NTP, which worked.

After changing 'Connected Via' to Disabled, and setting DNS Servers to my base router's IP. I managed to ping anything I wanted.
Thanks again!

Post Reply