How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

gfcaetano
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:07 am

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Postby gfcaetano » Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:12 am

Code: Select all

login as: root
root@192.168.1.2's password:


BusyBox v1.23.2 (2017-10-25 11:54:23 EDT) built-in shell (ash)

------------------------------------------------------------------
|            _____                             _                 |
|           |  __ \                           | |                |
|           | |  \/ __ _ _ __ __ _  ___  _   _| | ___            |
|           | | __ / _` | '__/ _` |/ _ \| | | | |/ _ \           |
|           | |_\ \ (_| | | | (_| | (_) | |_| | |  __/           |
|            \____/\__,_|_|  \__, |\___/ \__, |_|\___|           |
|                             __/ |       __/ |                  |
|                            |___/       |___/                   |
|                                                                |
|----------------------------------------------------------------|
| Gargoyle version 1.10.0   | OpenWrt Chaos Calmer branch        |
| Gargoyle revision ab16f958| OpenWrt commit 216adcf             |
| Built October 25, 2017    | Target  ar71xx/default             |
------------------------------------------------------------------
root@Gargoyle:~# ping 192.168.1.1 -c5
PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.694 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.631 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.619 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.609 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.570 ms

--- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 0.570/0.624/0.694 ms

RomanHK
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Postby RomanHK » Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:53 am

Perfect ;) , so router1 communicates with router2.

Now connect wirelessly and fill in the IP addresses on the end wireless device IP: 192.168.1.3, Mask: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.1.1, DNS: 192.168.1.1 and then try to connect to router "2" via ssh from the wireless device - should you get there and perform eg ping. (Instead of ssh you can also try the web interface http://192.168.1.2 - you should get to the GUI). Will you get to router "2" ?
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.11.X (1.13.X in test mode)
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.11.X
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

gfcaetano
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:07 am

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Postby gfcaetano » Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:43 pm

I can get into router 2 while connected to router 1 (wireless or wired).
It seems there's only an issue with router 2's WiFi and DHCP setup.

I can't disable the NameCoin/OpenNIC option on router 1. I hope it doesn't affect this.

RomanHK wrote:Perfect ;) , so router1 communicates with router2.

Now connect wirelessly and fill in the IP addresses on the end wireless device IP: 192.168.1.3, Mask: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.1.1, DNS: 192.168.1.1 and then try to connect to router "2" via ssh from the wireless device - should you get there and perform eg ping. (Instead of ssh you can also try the web interface http://192.168.1.2 - you should get to the GUI). Will you get to router "2" ?

RomanHK
Posts: 438
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Postby RomanHK » Wed Oct 30, 2019 6:56 pm

gfcaetano wrote:I can't disable the NameCoin/OpenNIC option on router 1. I hope it doesn't affect this.
This option does not affect IP address assignment.

Now let's see if you can access router2 via WiFi without DHCP - this will detect the problem on the WiFi side and eliminate the problem in DHCP.

Please set up the end WiFi client according to my instructions:
Now connect wirelessly and fill in the IP addresses on the end wireless device IP: 192.168.1.3, Mask: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.1.1, DNS: 192.168.1.1 and then try to connect to router "2" via ssh from the wireless device - should you get there and perform eg ping. (Instead of ssh you can also try the web interface http://192.168.1.2 - you should get to the GUI). Will you get to router "2" ?
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.11.X (1.13.X in test mode)
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.11.X
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

bobcov
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:26 pm

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Postby bobcov » Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:05 am

gfcaetano wrote:Thank you for replying, Lantis.
But it still doesn't work.

Now, at Router 2, I've disabled "Connect Via" and set the LAN IP address to 192.168.1.2 (same subnet as Router 1).
The cable is already connected at a LAN port on Router 1 and a LAN port on Router 2.
DHCP disabled on Router 2.

Wi-Fi clients still don't get IP.

Router 1 is a TP-LINK Archer C7 v5 (Gargoyle 1.11.0)
Router 2 is a TP-Link TL-WR941N/ND v2 (Gargoyle 1.10.0)

Any other clue?


This is very interesting. I have the exact opposite problem with a seemingly identical setup. I get DHCP from router1 fine over wireless on router2, but not at all over wired from router2. In fact, I replaced the router with an inferior one running ddwrt because of this problem. After I read the rest of this thread I'm going to get the old router out and look into this again.


Return to “Network / Wireless Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests