How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

gfcaetano
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:07 am

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by gfcaetano »

Code: Select all

login as: root
root@192.168.1.2's password:


BusyBox v1.23.2 (2017-10-25 11:54:23 EDT) built-in shell (ash)

------------------------------------------------------------------
|            _____                             _                 |
|           |  __ \                           | |                |
|           | |  \/ __ _ _ __ __ _  ___  _   _| | ___            |
|           | | __ / _` | '__/ _` |/ _ \| | | | |/ _ \           |
|           | |_\ \ (_| | | | (_| | (_) | |_| | |  __/           |
|            \____/\__,_|_|  \__, |\___/ \__, |_|\___|           |
|                             __/ |       __/ |                  |
|                            |___/       |___/                   |
|                                                                |
|----------------------------------------------------------------|
| Gargoyle version 1.10.0   | OpenWrt Chaos Calmer branch        |
| Gargoyle revision ab16f958| OpenWrt commit 216adcf             |
| Built October 25, 2017    | Target  ar71xx/default             |
------------------------------------------------------------------
root@Gargoyle:~# ping 192.168.1.1 -c5
PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.694 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.631 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.619 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.609 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.570 ms

--- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 0.570/0.624/0.694 ms

RomanHK
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by RomanHK »

Perfect ;) , so router1 communicates with router2.

Now connect wirelessly and fill in the IP addresses on the end wireless device IP: 192.168.1.3, Mask: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.1.1, DNS: 192.168.1.1 and then try to connect to router "2" via ssh from the wireless device - should you get there and perform eg ping. (Instead of ssh you can also try the web interface http://192.168.1.2 - you should get to the GUI). Will you get to router "2" ?
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

gfcaetano
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:07 am

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by gfcaetano »

I can get into router 2 while connected to router 1 (wireless or wired).
It seems there's only an issue with router 2's WiFi and DHCP setup.

I can't disable the NameCoin/OpenNIC option on router 1. I hope it doesn't affect this.

RomanHK wrote:Perfect ;) , so router1 communicates with router2.

Now connect wirelessly and fill in the IP addresses on the end wireless device IP: 192.168.1.3, Mask: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.1.1, DNS: 192.168.1.1 and then try to connect to router "2" via ssh from the wireless device - should you get there and perform eg ping. (Instead of ssh you can also try the web interface http://192.168.1.2 - you should get to the GUI). Will you get to router "2" ?

RomanHK
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by RomanHK »

gfcaetano wrote:I can't disable the NameCoin/OpenNIC option on router 1. I hope it doesn't affect this.
This option does not affect IP address assignment.

Now let's see if you can access router2 via WiFi without DHCP - this will detect the problem on the WiFi side and eliminate the problem in DHCP.

Please set up the end WiFi client according to my instructions:
Now connect wirelessly and fill in the IP addresses on the end wireless device IP: 192.168.1.3, Mask: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.1.1, DNS: 192.168.1.1 and then try to connect to router "2" via ssh from the wireless device - should you get there and perform eg ping. (Instead of ssh you can also try the web interface http://192.168.1.2 - you should get to the GUI). Will you get to router "2" ?
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

bobcov
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:26 pm

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by bobcov »

gfcaetano wrote:Thank you for replying, Lantis.
But it still doesn't work.

Now, at Router 2, I've disabled "Connect Via" and set the LAN IP address to 192.168.1.2 (same subnet as Router 1).
The cable is already connected at a LAN port on Router 1 and a LAN port on Router 2.
DHCP disabled on Router 2.

Wi-Fi clients still don't get IP.

Router 1 is a TP-LINK Archer C7 v5 (Gargoyle 1.11.0)
Router 2 is a TP-Link TL-WR941N/ND v2 (Gargoyle 1.10.0)

Any other clue?


This is very interesting. I have the exact opposite problem with a seemingly identical setup. I get DHCP from router1 fine over wireless on router2, but not at all over wired from router2. In fact, I replaced the router with an inferior one running ddwrt because of this problem. After I read the rest of this thread I'm going to get the old router out and look into this again.

aspen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 3:42 am

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by aspen »

I have the same problem: wired clients connected to router 2 do not get an IP address. Clients connected to router 2 via wifi receive an ip address from router1 and normally work with the LAN and Internet.
Upgrading to version 1.12 of gargoyle did not solve the problem.
I tried to enable DHCP on router2. That didn't solve the problem.
Does anyone have any ideas?
:?
TL-WR1043ND v1 with Gargoyle 1.12.0

RomanHK
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by RomanHK »

Describe your settings (you can also put screenshots here) eg:

Router 1:
WAN: IP 10.0.0.5
LAN: IP 192.168.1.1

Router2:
WAN: bridge to LAN
LAN: 192.168.1.2

WAN to {Router1} from LAN(2,3,4), WiFi 2,4GHz - for clients

{Router1} from LAN(1) <-> LAN(1) to {Router2} from LAN (2,3,4), WiFi 2.4GHz, WiFi 5GHz - for clients
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

aspen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 3:42 am

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by aspen »

RomanHK wrote:Describe your settings (you can also put screenshots here) eg:

Router 1:
WAN: IP 10.0.0.5
LAN: IP 192.168.1.1

Router2:
WAN: bridge to LAN
LAN: 192.168.1.2

WAN to {Router1} from LAN(2,3,4), WiFi 2,4GHz - for clients

{Router1} from LAN(1) <-> LAN(1) to {Router2} from LAN (2,3,4), WiFi 2.4GHz, WiFi 5GHz - for clients


My configuration is:
Router 1:
WAN: IP x.x.x.x (PPPoE to internet provider)
LAN: IP 192.168.0.1

Router2:
WAN: bridge to LAN
LAN: 192.168.0.2

{Router1} from LAN(2,3,4), WiFi 2,4GHz, WiFi 5GHz - for clients

{Router1} from LAN(1) <-> WAN to {Router2} from LAN (2,3,4), WiFi 2.4GHz, - for clients

Clients connected to router 2 via wifi receive an ip address from Router1 and can access to the local area network and the Internet.
Clients connected to Router2 through the LAN port do not receive an ip address from Router1. Therefore there is no access anywhere.

I tried to connect router 2 like this:
{Router1} from LAN(1) <-> LAN(1) to {Router2} from LAN (2,3,4), WiFi 2.4GHz, - for clients

The situation has improved: wired clients connected to Router2 received an ip address from Router1 and gained access to the Internet, but did not gain access to local network resources. Wireless clients connected to Router2 also received an ip address from Router1 and access to the Internet, but did not receive access to local network resources.

I have a NAS. I connect it to the LAN port of Router2. And no one sees him. If the NAS is connected to the LAN port of Router1, it is visible to wireless clients connected to Router2. Wired clients connected to Router2 cannot see it.
TL-WR1043ND v1 with Gargoyle 1.12.0

RomanHK
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by RomanHK »

Do not forget about DHCP:

Router1 - DHCP Server ON
Router2 - DHCP Server OFF

Check the settings after the routers have restarted - sometimes, if you change the settings, the DHCP server will turn on again.

The NAS must have the same subnet (in your case 192.168.0.0/24) as the LAN on the routers and the IP must not be the same as Router1 and 2.

Set the NAS to IP 192.168.0.3 (Mask: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.0.1, DNS: 192.168.0.1) or from DHCP. For now, do not connect NAS to WAN, leave LAN (2,3,4).
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

rsbrux
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:15 pm

Re: How to setup 2 Wi-Fi networks with LAN-to-LAN connected routers?

Post by rsbrux »

i have similar problems since updating from v1.8.1 to v1.12.0. I did not attempt to presere settings but instead saved the setup pages from the v1.8.1 configuration and attempted to reproduce them manually in the v1.12.1 configuration. The Gargoyle router is connected to the gateway (or as some in this thread have called it, host) router's LAN via a cable attached to the gargoyle router's WAN port. Since nothing has changed in the cabling or in the configuration of the gateway router, I will concentrate on the Gargoyle router's configuration:
Gateway
Internet/WAN Disabled
Wan Ethernet Port Bridge to LAN
Router IP 192.163.0.3
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.0.1
DNS Server 192.168.0.1
Allow NameCoin/OpenNIC resolution
These are the same settings I had working under 1.8.1
A client connected to the Gargoyle router does not receive a DHCP address from the gateway router. If I assign a fixed IP address in the correct subnet (192.168.0.x), it can connect to both the Gargoyle router and the gateway router, but not to the internet. Any suggestioons?
TP-LINK WDR4300v1
Gargoyle 1.12.0 as AP, LAN to WAN bridged

Post Reply