The right setup or configuration.

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

gargoyledoog
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 7:04 pm

The right setup or configuration.

Postby gargoyledoog » Sun May 05, 2019 7:47 pm

Hi. I have a small doubt.

This is the setup so far, I have a wr741n v4 with gargoyle 1.10 installed and running fine (main - ssid1 - all usual services), and a wr340g v3 stock (slave - ssid2 - no dhcp or anything - acting like an extender, firmware updated but no gargoyle for it, or even openwrt, or something better than stock, just so it becomes a lighter repeater or extender).

For the location, main feds the slave lan port to lan port (since I configure it do act like an extender). What I want to know is if my setup is correct and efficient, because for unknown reasons, the internet connection gets quite slow from time to time but I don't see any reboots or slow downs on the main, so I'm suspecting the slave may be overloaded.

Is a small residency were there may be a total of 15 devices connecting to the slave and some 2 or 3 to the main.

At first, could it be that the hardware is just not enough for all the workload? or is just misconfiguration on the slave?

I have a drawing of the setup but the board doesn't allow me to post it so I tried to explain myself as best as I could.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4843
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: The right setup or configuration.

Postby Lantis » Mon May 06, 2019 1:30 am

The slave router may be struggling under the load.
Typically around 15 device is where you will start to see performance degradation on consumer grade routers.

Connecting LAN to LAN with DHCP disabled is the right way to do it.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

gargoyledoog
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: The right setup or configuration.

Postby gargoyledoog » Thu May 09, 2019 9:34 pm

what about setting up both routers to have the same ssid (same or different channels), i know is not the way (just asking in my little knowledge), but would that create some sort of mesh that may lighten the load as clients would roam between ap's seamlessly?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4537
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: The right setup or configuration.

Postby ispyisail » Thu May 09, 2019 10:19 pm

gargoyledoog wrote:what about setting up both routers to have the same ssid (same or different channels), i know is not the way (just asking in my little knowledge), but would that create some sort of mesh that may lighten the load as clients would roam between ap's seamlessly?


............is where you will start to see performance degradation on consumer grade routers.



In my opinion Its unlikely you will get the performance without spending money on the correct gear.

Cheap routers ain't going to cut it in a performance situation

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4843
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: The right setup or configuration.

Postby Lantis » Thu May 09, 2019 11:28 pm

Clients don’t tend to “roam” as well as you might think.
They hang onto signals as much as they can.

Roaming is purely a client implementation. There are some AP side strategies to help, but in general, the roaming performance will be hit and miss.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4537
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: The right setup or configuration.

Postby ispyisail » Fri May 10, 2019 10:36 am

the roaming performance will be hit and miss.


Yeah

Unifi gear has "roaming" but with the tests i've done it only works with some clients. Had to turn the feature off.

gargoyledoog
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: The right setup or configuration.

Postby gargoyledoog » Fri May 10, 2019 6:58 pm

Just as a measure, I used "elbow grease"...

A manual balancing act :lol: :lol: :lol:

Different passwords for each ssid, so each person connects only to the ssid close to it. :lol: :lol: No slow downs and everyone is happy :P


Return to “Network / Wireless Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests