Page 1 of 1
No bandwidth monitoring in 1.1.2
Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:07 pm
by Geefer
Hi,
I have just upgraded my Linksys WRT54G v1.1 router from stock Linksys firmware to version 1.1.2 of Gargoyle and everything appears to work fine except I get no bandwidth monitoring information at all. If I upload the bandwidth data I get a csv file full of an error message as follows:
------------------
ERROR: Bandwidth query failed make sure rule with specified id exists and that you are performing only one query at a time.
------------------
I have static IP's assigned for my hosts though DHCP is enabled. I have not enabled any QoS functions.
Can anyone point me tpo what I have done wrong in my setup?
Re: No bandwidth monitoring in 1.1.2
Posted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:54 pm
by Eric
That is strange. It sounds like you're doing everything right (though as of 1.1.X releases you don't need to set static IPs, but it shouldn't make a difference if you do).
The only question I have is regarding your claim that you uploaded bandwidth information even though you say you installed Gargoyle straight from the linksys stock firmware. The only way to upload bandwidth information is by restoring a backup generated by Gargoyle, but you never used a previous version. So... can you be a little more clear what you did in terms of "uploading" bandwidth data?
I have tried and cannot replicate this problem, so in order to debug it I will need more information from you.
Can you please ssh into your router (if using windows use
putty), and either post the output of the following commands below or send them to me via PM. These shouldn't reveal any critical information about your network, but some people feel more comfortable not posting this information in public and prefer to use PM:
Code: Select all
iptables -t filter -L bw_ingress
iptables -t mangle -L bw_egress
Re: No bandwidth monitoring in 1.1.2
Posted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:12 pm
by Geefer
Hi,
I should have used the word 'download' rather than upload. I pressed the button "Download Now" in the section labeled "Download Bandwidth Data" at the bottom of the screen for the bandwidth dispay options.
Re: No bandwidth monitoring in 1.1.2
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:30 am
by Eric
Ok, given the info you sent me, I still can't figure out what's going on -- it looks like the rules are getting inserted into iptables properly.
This is a bit tricky to debug, since I can't replicate what you are seeing.
Have you tested whether a reboot fixes the issue? The error you report seeing happens when a semaphore isn't released properly. This gets reset after a reboot. (Of course, that begs the question, how it got locked up in the firstplace, which is worrying).
Re: No bandwidth monitoring in 1.1.2
Posted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:00 am
by Geefer
Hi Eric,
Yes I have tried rebooting and also a complete power cycle. Nothing appears to make any difference. I have looked through the dmesg output (having logged in via ssh) and nothing jumps out at me as being wrong - though to be honest I would not know what to look for.
Are there any other log files I can check for correct functioning? Should I try executing a "Restore Default Configuration" from the web interface?
Thanks Paul
Re: No bandwidth monitoring in 1.1.2
Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 1:12 pm
by Eric
Try logging in via ssh as before, and running this, and then post the output:
Code: Select all
bw_get -h -i total3B-upload-hour-24
No guarantees that will tell me what's wrong (based on what you've already told me, I suspect this command to give you an error), but it might help me figure out what to test next.
Re: No bandwidth monitoring in 1.1.2
Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:20 am
by Geefer
Hi Eric, As expected the command gives an error ...
---------------------------------------------------
root@paul-router:~# bw_get -h -i total3B-upload-hour-24
ERROR: Bandwidth query failed, make sure rule with specified id exists, and that you are performing only one query at a time.
root@paul-router:~#
Re: No bandwidth monitoring in 1.1.2
Posted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 6:02 pm
by Eric
This is going to be tricky to debug unless I can replicate the issue. The problem seems to be somewhere in the bandwidth module/iptbwctl library, which means in order to test I need to adjust and recompile some code written in C.
One last thing you might try: ssh in and then first turn off the bandwith monitor completely ( and make sure you don't have any quotas defined), and then reboot & exit:
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/bwmon_gargoyle stop
/etc/init.d/bwmon_gargoyle disable
reboot ; exit
Wait a few minutes, and then log back in again with ssh. Then run the following, and tell me what the output is. Try visiting a website or something right after you execute the first command listed below, so that there is some data in the monitoring rule you're inserting. Then execute the second and third:
Code: Select all
iptables -I FORWARD -m bandwidth --id testband
(open your browser and go visit a website or two)
iptables -L FORWARD
bw_get -i testband
If you want to turn the bandwidth monitor scripts back on afterwards (even though it's not working for you), you can run these commands:
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/bwmon_gargoyle enable
/etc/init.d/bwmon_gargoyle start
Re: No bandwidth monitoring in 1.1.2
Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 1:51 pm
by Geefer
Hi Eric,
Here is the result of issuing the commands as suggested. Sorry about the formatting:
---------------------------------------------------
root@paul-router:~# iptables -I FORWARD -m bandwidth --id testband
(Browser opended and browsed to a couple of websites)
root@paul-router:~# iptables -L FORWARD
Chain FORWARD (policy DROP)
target prot opt source destination
all -- anywhere anywhere bandwidth --id testband --type combined --current_bandwidth 1061361
ingress_restrictions all -- anywhere anywhere
egress_restrictions all -- anywhere anywhere
zone_wan_MSSFIX all -- anywhere anywhere
DROP all -- anywhere anywhere state INVALID
ACCEPT all -- anywhere anywhere state RELATED,ESTABLISHED
forwarding_rule all -- anywhere anywhere
forward all -- anywhere anywhere
reject all -- anywhere anywhere
root@paul-router:~# bw_get -i testband
ERROR: Bandwidth query failed, make sure rule with specified id exists, and that you are performing only one query at a time.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks, Paul