Page 1 of 1

Routing trouble with wireless bridge mode

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2023 8:15 am
by ektus
On a wireless bridge with Gargoyle Routers on both ends, I can reach the client router (192.168.0.176) from the host side, and the client router can reach a wired client connected to its LAN port (192.168.0.8), but trying to ping that client from the host side results in "Destination Port Unreachable" from 192.168.0.176.

Main LAN - 192.168.0.175 in AP mode - wifi - 192.168.0.176 in Wireless Bridge mode - LAN - 192.168.0.8 Client

Devices are:
192.168.0.175 is running Gargoyle 1.15.X now (TL-WR1043ND V2)
192.168.0.176 is running Gargoyle 1.10.0 (TL-WR941ND V3.6, latest version for that router). I can access it normally, including SSH. From within SSH, I can ping 192.168.0.8
192.168.0.8 Arduino Mega with minimal Web Server as remote sensor.

Is this a bug in the old 1.10.0 firmware? Should I post config pages?

Re: Routing trouble with wireless bridge mode

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2023 12:53 pm
by ektus
Additional information: Wireless clients connected to 192.168.0.176 can reach 192.168.0.8, but nothing else, and no internet.

From within a SSH session to 192.168.0.176, everything is reachable.

Image
Image

[solved] Routing trouble with wireless bridge mode

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2023 1:40 pm
by ektus
I found the problem by comparing the firewall rules to a known-working setup on a router running 1.15.x. Turns out there was a "reject" in place for lan forwarding:

Code: Select all

config zone
	option name 'lan'
	option input 'ACCEPT'
	option output 'ACCEPT'
	option forward 'REJECT'
	list network 'lan'
	list network 'wwan'
changed to:

Code: Select all

config zone
	option name 'lan'
	option input 'ACCEPT'
	option output 'ACCEPT'
	option forward 'ACCEPT'
	list network 'lan'
	list network 'wwan'
All of a sudden the Arduino became reachable, and clients to the bridged router gained access to the internet.

Re: Routing trouble with wireless bridge mode

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2023 6:25 pm
by Lantis
Had you modified that? LAN forward should be ACCEPT by default I think? Or is there a bug setting it to REJECT?

Re: Routing trouble with wireless bridge mode

Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2023 9:51 pm
by ektus
I hadn't touched that file before, and as far as I can see there's no way to alter it from the GUI in wireless client mode. It's an old version, too, so nothing too urgent. I've documented it here and it's an easy fix, should it happen to others. The current 1.15.X is okay.

This was a fresh install. The router had been out of commission due to a boot loop and had been running 1.6.2 before. I had to use the serial console to enter safe mode, issue firstboot and subsequently flash 1.10.0 (from GUI).