Gargoyle on Archer A7

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

BogMonster

Gargoyle on Archer A7

Post by BogMonster »

Hi all, new forum user, perhaps a stupid question but I cannot find an answer after searching.

I've been running Gargoyle on an Archer C7 v2 for several years now, 100% happy with it, have had over a year of uptime without rebooting and it's been a lifesaver in a country with limited internet data allowance, you can use it to tame updates and force them to run overnight during the uncapped period.

It's been so good that I wanted to replicate the setup I have at home in another property, and after a bit of a hunt around which failed to find anywhere selling a new C7, I got an Archer A7 (which appears near identical). Having looked I see there is a build available for the A7 but only the experimental one (entirely my fault, didn't check before buying the A7).

I guess my question is how "experimental" is it and should I expect it to work as well as my C7 does, or might there be problems and if so what sort of thing? The C7 and A7 seem near identical but the stable build 1.12 is not available for the A7. My current C7 runs 1.10.

I can't see anything on the forum from anybody who has done an A7 using 1.13, but it may be because I don't know where to look and the fact that the "A7" seems to be too short as a search string.

Thanks.

Edited to add - I've tried the firmware installation and the router just bounces it almost immediately with the message "Invalid file type" so I'm stuck on what to do next. Tried to rename/shorten the filename, same result. Off to search again but any suggestions would be gratefully received!

ispyisail

Re: Gargoyle on Archer A7

Post by ispyisail »

BogMonster

Post by BogMonster »

Thanks. So do I first need to install the OpenWRT firmware from that page, and then install the Gargoyle .bin from OpenWRT?

pythonic

Post by pythonic »