Page 2 of 2

Re: NBN Superfast on Gargoyle

Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 7:28 pm
by Lantis
Can you post your network config file?
WAN is probably already VLAN 2, but you may need to tag the packets.

Code: Select all

cat /etc/config/network
Knock out any passwords before posting here

Re: NBN Superfast on Gargoyle

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 2:14 am
by rockyd
This is the contents of my network config file.
Comparing it to my Netgears network config looks like VLAN 2 is setup on the WAN.

Code: Select all


config interface 'loopback'
	option ifname 'lo'
	option proto 'static'
	option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
	option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config globals 'globals'
	option ula_prefix 'fdab:0bf6:5ab5::/48'

config interface 'lan'
	option type 'bridge'
	option ifname 'eth0.1'
	option proto 'static'
	option netmask '255.255.255.0'
	option ip6assign '60'
	option ipaddr '172.16.0.254'
	option dns '208.67.222.123 208.67.220.123'

config interface 'wan'
	option ifname 'eth1.2'
	option ipv6 '0'
	option dns '208.67.222.123 208.67.220.123'
	option peerdns '0'
	option proto 'pppoe'
	option password 'xxxxxxxxxxx'
	option keepalive '3 5'
	option username 'xxxxxxxxxxx'

config interface 'wan6'
	option ifname 'eth1.2'
	option proto 'dhcpv6'

config switch
	option name 'switch0'
	option reset '1'
	option enable_vlan '1'

config switch_vlan
	option device 'switch0'
	option vlan '1'
	option ports '0 1 2 3 5t'

config switch_vlan
	option device 'switch0'
	option vlan '2'
	option ports '4 6t'




Re: NBN Superfast on Gargoyle

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 2:33 am
by rockyd
I think I sussed it out.

Original

Code: Select all

config switch_vlan
option device 'switch0'
option vlan '2'
option ports '4 6t'
connects when t added to the 4

Code: Select all

config switch_vlan
option device 'switch0'
option vlan '2'
option ports '4t 6t'

Re: NBN Superfast on Gargoyle

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 2:36 am
by rockyd
Finally seeing some Superfast speeds

Image

Re: NBN Superfast on Gargoyle

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:09 am
by Lantis
Thats it :)
So I assume you're now getting your full speed?

Re: NBN Superfast on Gargoyle

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:23 am
by rockyd
Yes, I believe that's the kind of speeds I should be seeing.
Now to go through and configure it like my Netgear.

Cool to see temperatures displayed.

Any plans to add a gui option to set VLAN? or are all different router variations too complicated to do that?

Re: NBN Superfast on Gargoyle

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 4:44 am
by Lantis
Id like to do it eventually, but it's complex. I also don't understand enough about it either

Re: NBN Superfast on Gargoyle

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 8:34 am
by pbix
I hate to throw shade on your WRT1900AC but I just decommissioned mine after struggling with it for about 6 months. I could not make the Wifi stable. There are issues with the wifi driver that are not going to be resolved over in OpenWRT land as the chip manufacturer has not provided the open source access needed to resolve the problems.

The speed was great however as you note. If you are using only wired connection or your not concerned about occasional random wifi disconnects you should be Ok.

Just watch for the random disconnects which you can see by using logread.

I have fallen back to using my Netgear WNDR3700v2 which peaks out around 60Mbps for routing. I much prefer stability over speed once I get over about 15Mbps.

Re: NBN Superfast on Gargoyle

Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2021 6:28 pm
by rockyd
Thanks for the heads up, I wasn't planning on using the Wifi, except in an emergency if my Wifi router(ASUS RT-AC66U) died. So at the moment Wifi isn't even turned on. I had tested the ASUS RT-AC66U connected to Internode, and saw about 170Mb/s download, so was pleased when I speed tested over the Wifi to the Linksys to see similar speeds as the wired connections. Once the speedboost from the isp ends, I may well fall back to the Netgear as well, as that should see me through at least one upgrade to 100Mb/s(my normal non speed boosted speed is 50Mb/s)