Page 1 of 2
USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:28 am
by pbix
I am using the USB mount feature for the first time and having an issue.
The command I used on my Linux box is below and returned no message.
Code: Select all
sudo mount -t cifs -o username=paul,password=*******,domain=WORKGROUP //192.168.2.1/share_1 ~/route
The mount command returns this.
Code: Select all
[//192.168.2.1/share_1 on /home/paul/router type cifs (rw,relatime,vers=1.0,cache=strict,username=paul,domain=WORKGROUP,uid=0,noforceuid,gid=0,noforcegid,addr=192.168.2.1,unix,posixpaths,serverino,mapposix,acl,rsize=1048576,wsize=1048576,actimeo=1)
But an attempt to copy to the mount point give an error.
Code: Select all
paul@paul-HP-xw4400-Workstation ~ $ sudo cp post.pdf router
[sudo] password for paul:
cp: cannot create regular file 'router/post.pdf': Permission denied
paul@paul-HP-xw4400-Workstation ~ $ ls -l router
total 0
drwx------ 2 root root 0 Feb 27 20:06 lost+found
paul@paul-HP-xw4400-Workstation ~ $
I would attach a screenshot of what I see on the router but an attempt to upload it gave the forum message "board quote full". But in summary the mount is shown with one user "paul" with R/W access displayed.
If there are some ideas out there I would love to hear them.
Re: USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 12:11 pm
by ispyisail
I would attach a screenshot of what I see on the router but an attempt to upload it gave the forum message "board quote full"
Use an external source
I use "Greenshot" with "
http://imgur.com/"
then paste
Code: Select all
[img]https://i.imgur.com/t63ZyU4.png[/img]

Re: USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 12:13 pm
by ispyisail
Re: USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:15 pm
by pbix
Well here is the screen shot but why is our forum quota full?
The version I am using is v1.9.1
Re: USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:19 pm
by ispyisail
That fix is in 1.9.2
Screen shots have been like that forever
saves Eric some money I guess
Re: USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:38 am
by pbix
What is fixed in v1.9.2? I do not see anything in the release notes about this issue. Are we saying that mounting was not possible at all before v1.9.2?
Re: USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:22 am
by Lantis
No issue on my end.
Do not think this is related (or fixed) in 1.9.2.
Happy to compare configs if you like?
Code: Select all
sudo mount -t cifs -o username=User,password=Meerkat,domain=WORKGROUP //192.168.1.1/UserMedia ~/tester
Code: Select all
//192.168.1.1/UserMedia on /home/michael/tester type cifs (rw,relatime,vers=1.0,cache=strict,username=User,domain=WORKGROUP,uid=0,noforceuid,gid=0,noforcegid,addr=192.168.1.1,unix,posixpaths,serverino,mapposix,acl,rsize=1048576,wsize=1048576,actimeo=1)
Code: Select all
ls tester
_minidlna New folder System Volume Information
Stuff $RECYCLE.BIN More_Stuff
sudo cp ~/130-rfkillarcher.patch tester
ls tester
130-rfkillarcher.patch Stuff $RECYCLE.BIN More_Stuff
_minidlna New folder System Volume Information
Code: Select all
rm tester/130-rfkillarcher.patch
ls tester
_minidlna New folder System Volume Information
Stuff $RECYCLE.BIN More_Stuff
Re: USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:44 pm
by pbix
The only difference I see is that your mounted drive has no "lost+found" like mine does and instead has other files there by default.
In my case I only get the change to mount my USB drive if I format it first. This seems strange to me. Do you get this behavior? The screen says "no mounted USB disks detected" and only the format dialog appears. Once formatted the drive mounts and I am given the change to create shares for it.
I continue to poke at it.
Re: USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:10 pm
by Lantis
No don't see that at all. Haven't formatted it in years.
It is NTFS by the way in case that is another difference.
I do occasionally manually restart the USB service because of a DLNA issue.
The page says that there is no mounted USB (because I unmounted it).
If you replug the device or /etc/init.d/usb_storage restart it fires back to life.
Re: USB Mount Errors
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:47 pm
by ispyisail
What is the drive size?
There was a size limit at one stage?