Page 2 of 2

Re: remember config after upgrade

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:06 pm
by hnl_dk
hnl_dk wrote:
pbix wrote:I have spent a good part of the last month trying add this feature to Gargoyle.

I have found this to be difficult. I know OpenWRT claims such functionality and have tried to use OpenWRT utilities it with Gargoyle. However, I have found these utilities unreliable at least on the routers I have worked with.

So at this point until someone smarter than me can explain the inner workings of OpenWRT's sysupgrade script I am not hopeful we will see this in Gargoyle.
Hello
Did not think of that.
/www/utility/do_upgrade.sh
change line 47

Code: Select all

		/sbin/sysupgrade -n /tmp/up/upgrade  2>&1 | awk ' $0 ~ /eboot/ { print "<script type=\"text/javascript\">top.upgraded();</script></body></html>" ; } '
into

Code: Select all

		/sbin/sysupgrade /tmp/up/upgrade  2>&1 | awk ' $0 ~ /eboot/ { print "<script type=\"text/javascript\">top.upgraded();</script></body></html>" ; } '
I have now tested it on both my two routers (gateway and AP) - both tl-wr1043nd.
So far it looks like it has remembered all settings, even my syslog settings :mrgreen:
Have now also modified it on 1.5.0, so now I am ready to upgrade to the next version, when it gets released.

Re: remember config after upgrade

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:45 pm
by bjland2
I have met the same problem, have you solved it yet? how do you solve it?

Re: remember config after upgrade

Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:55 am
by hnl_dk
bjland2 wrote:I have met the same problem, have you solved it yet? how do you solve it?
This hack is the solution: Subject: remember config after upgrade
But remember to mack a backup before doing so, just to make sure.

The problem is that Gargoyle has disabled this feature, so by removing a simple '-n' in the line, does is work again.

The only problem I have has with this, was that it did reset the name of the routers. That was easy to fix, so I did not even care to restore the backup.

Re: remember config after upgrade

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:16 pm
by wkweksl
This is a nice feature to have. Made the change and will see if it keeps all settings in the next upgrade.

Re: remember config after upgrade

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:04 am
by hnl_dk
wkweksl wrote:This is a nice feature to have. Made the change and will see if it keeps all settings in the next upgrade.
But remember to take the backup anyway, just to make sure.

Re: remember config after upgrade

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:46 pm
by wkweksl
hnl_dk, you rock! Just upgraded to 1.5.2 with all settings intact.

Re: remember config after upgrade

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:48 pm
by hnl_dk
wkweksl wrote:hnl_dk, you rock! Just upgraded to 1.5.2 with all settings intact.
Perfect.
But remember also to make the change for the next update.

Re: remember config after upgrade

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:55 pm
by wkweksl
hnl_dk wrote:Perfect.
But remember also to make the change for the next update.
Oh? You mean the file was overwritten after the upgrade? Will edit it. Thanks.

Re: remember config after upgrade

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:39 pm
by hnl_dk
wkweksl wrote:
hnl_dk wrote:Perfect.
But remember also to make the change for the next update.
Oh? You mean the file was overwritten after the upgrade? Will edit it. Thanks.
Yes it is.