wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

sodapopdima
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:35 pm

wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby sodapopdima » Thu May 26, 2011 2:47 pm

I have successfully flashed my linksys wrt150n 1.1 with the 1.3.14 Broadcom Gargoyle firmware, from a previous DD-WRT std buld via the dd-wrt GUI with the reset option.

Everyhting seems to be working OK, i LOGGED IN, WAS ABLE TO CHANGE MOST OPTIONS, HOWEVER, I can't turn the wireless adapter on. It just gets stuck in the Applying your settings message in Gargoyle.

Any suggestions as to what I can do?

[UPDATE] I tried an older build of Gargoyle, same issue, can't enable wireless. I wish this worked because everything else works fine. Is there some manual way to do it, maybe through telnet or an ssh session in putty?
Thanks in adavnce

sodapopdima
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:35 pm

Re: wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby sodapopdima » Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:03 pm

Anyone???

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby DoesItMatter » Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:22 pm

Try flashing 1.3.9 and do NOT load an old config.

Re-configure from scratch.

1.3.10 and up had a different set of broadcom drivers.

Try 1.3.9 and see if the wireless works / activates.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

AgeOfGargoyles
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:51 pm

Re: wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby AgeOfGargoyles » Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:54 am

hi sodapopdima, is your problem already solved?

sodapopdima
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:35 pm

Re: wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby sodapopdima » Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:30 pm

I just saw this reply, I will try it tonight and report back.

[edit]
darn, won't have the router back for a week or two, forgot I lent it to a friend for some range testing
[/edit]

Just curious though, if that older version does work, wouldn't it be the last known version from gargoyle that the router can receive?

How would I go about getting bug fixes and later features in newer revisions?

sodapopdima
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:35 pm

Re: wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby sodapopdima » Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:51 pm

Yep, the older version works to enable wireless!!!

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby DoesItMatter » Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:30 pm

sodapopdima wrote:Yep, the older version works to enable wireless!!!


Post a reply to the 1.3.14 announcement thread.

Let Eric know that 1.3.9 works on the WRT150n V1.1,
but the later version's don't allow wireless to enable.

Probably due to something in the 1.3.10 code change.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

sodapopdima
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:35 pm

Re: wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby sodapopdima » Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:32 am

I will, thanks, I actually just realized another big wireless bug affecting both my models I am playing with. I actually tried to put my wrt350n on my main network to do some testing and it occurred to me that the darn thing turns on wireless, but, the SSID is not broadcast even though according to the router it is, and basically its not really on even though it looks it.

I once again don't have the wrt150n with me at the moment but I am quite sure its the same story with that one.

I have come so close with these, its frustrating, but fun at the same time.

sodapopdima
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:35 pm

Re: wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby sodapopdima » Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:55 pm

Same issue with the wrt150n, the wireless appears to be turned on in the webgui, but my laptop's can't see it. I know it physically works because when i switch to dd-wrt all is well. So even in the older builds, somehow wireless is broken.

I would really like to hold on to these and keep testing, but they are losing value sitting around, so I plan to ebay and sell both my routers off. i see very little response from the gargoyle creator (I am sure he has his hands full and has little time, and is probably concentrating on other aspects of gargoyle) and simply put I would really like to keep testing but at this point I have nothing new to test with.

I hope all my findings set a good starting ground for anyone else in the future whom tries to get these models to work one day.

krehator
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:37 pm

Re: wrt150n v1.1 cant enable wireless

Postby krehator » Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:41 pm

I'm having the same issue with my 150N v1.1

The settings appear fine but the wireless is not enabled. Looking at the front of the router, the LED is not lit, which confirms it is not enabled.

I tried various versions of the firmware with no luck. :(

I'm using DDWRT now, but I would have loved the quota functions of Gargoyle on this router.


Return to “Hardware / Installation Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest