compile build failed

If your problem doesn't fall into one of the other categories, report it here.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
pyed
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:14 am

Re: compile build failed

Post by pyed »

Lantis wrote:If you just want to compile mvebu, we already have that set up for you.
Just run, “make FULL_BUILD=true mvebu”

If you are trying to do something more advanced than that, please explain what you want to achieve so we can help.

Be aware that the compilation environment for Openwrt and Gargoyle are similar, but different. Gargoyle is a wrapper for the Openwrt build environment.
Hello Lantis

I'm hitting the same error as OP whenever I try to `make FULL_BUILD=true custom` to build gargoyle 1.11.0 for my `Buffalo WBMR-HP-G300H`

the error I'm talking about is this one

Code: Select all

net/netfilter/nf_queue.c: In function '__nf_queue':
net/netfilter/nf_queue.c:178:2: error: label 'err_unlock' used but not defined
  goto err_unlock;
  ^~~~
I tried testing my build environment with `make FULL_BUILD=true mvebu` and the build finished successfully, I don't think you have a target setup for my WBMR router/modem, so I need the custom build, I used to successfully build every version of gargoyle up until 1.11.0, any ideas ?
Buffalo WBMR-HP-G300H

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6751
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: compile build failed

Post by Lantis »

I never have much luck just letting make custom run to completion.
Try out the documented work flow on the wiki under the “Make Custom” heading https://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/do ... umentation

You’re basically ending the build after the configuration step and then starting it again as a whole new target.

If that doesn’t work, post your config and we’ll take a look
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

User avatar
pyed
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:14 am

Re: compile build failed

Post by pyed »

Lantis wrote:I never have much luck just letting make custom run to completion.
Try out the documented work flow on the wiki under the “Make Custom” heading https://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/do ... umentation

You’re basically ending the build after the configuration step and then starting it again as a whole new target.

If that doesn’t work, post your config and we’ll take a look
I followed the instructions in wiki under "Make Custom", and I got the same error

Code: Select all

  CC      net/ipv6/mcast_snoop.o
  LD      net/ipv6/built-in.o
  CC      net/llc/llc_core.o
  CC      net/llc/llc_input.o
  CC      net/llc/llc_output.o
  LD      net/llc/llc.o
  LD      net/llc/built-in.o
  CC      net/netfilter/core.o
  CC      net/netfilter/nf_log.o
  CC      net/netfilter/nf_queue.o
net/netfilter/nf_queue.c: In function '__nf_queue':
net/netfilter/nf_queue.c:144:3: error: label 'err_unlock' used but not defined
   goto err_unlock;
   ^~~~
scripts/Makefile.build:304: recipe for target 'net/netfilter/nf_queue.o' failed
make[8]: *** [net/netfilter/nf_queue.o] Error 1
scripts/Makefile.build:555: recipe for target 'net/netfilter' failed
make[7]: *** [net/netfilter] Error 2
Makefile:1026: recipe for target 'net' failed
make[6]: *** [net] Error 2
make[6]: Leaving directory '/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src/build_dir/target-mips_24kc_musl/linux-lantiq_xway/linux-4.9.156'
Makefile:23: recipe for target '/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src/build_dir/target-mips_24kc_musl/linux-lantiq_xway/linux-4.9.156/.image' failed
make[5]: *** [/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src/build_dir/target-mips_24kc_musl/linux-lantiq_xway/linux-4.9.156/.image] Error 2
make[5]: Leaving directory '/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src/target/linux/lantiq'
Makefile:13: recipe for target 'install' failed
make[4]: *** [install] Error 2
make[4]: Leaving directory '/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src/target/linux'
time: target/linux/install#2270.06#196.51#2464.32
target/Makefile:23: recipe for target 'target/linux/install' failed
make[3]: *** [target/linux/install] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory '/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src'
target/Makefile:19: recipe for target '/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src/staging_dir/target-mips_24kc_musl/stamp/.target_install' failed
make[2]: *** [/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src/staging_dir/target-mips_24kc_musl/stamp/.target_install] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory '/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src'
/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src/include/toplevel.mk:216: recipe for target 'world' failed
make[1]: *** [world] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory '/root/build/gargoyle/lantiq-src'
root@f08a5c61fb8c:~/build/gargoyle#
here's my config that I rescued from "~/build/custom-src" and moved it over to "~/build/targets/lantiq/profiles/default"
https://pastebin.com/raw/8G1XvVcZ

then issued the following command:
"make FULL_BUILD=true lantiq"

what to try next ?
Buffalo WBMR-HP-G300H

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6751
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: compile build failed

Post by Lantis »

The following config worked for me:
https://pastebin.com/xUskrmDD

I note that a lot of things are missing from your config. Try this one and see if you can get a successful compile.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

User avatar
pyed
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:14 am

Re: compile build failed

Post by pyed »

while building using your config, my tmux session was using my whole CPU because it was getting flooded with a message about some minimum password length, and I believe it went on for hours until I interrupted the build process, see the following screenshot

Image

any ideas ?
Buffalo WBMR-HP-G300H

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6751
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: compile build failed

Post by Lantis »

Did you make clean between it? Your build root is probably pretty messed up. That should be done.

I've rehosted the config file just incase:
https://pastebin.com/V7isLpwG
It is the same albeit with arping included as well.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

User avatar
pyed
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:14 am

Re: compile build failed

Post by pyed »

Lantis wrote:Did you make clean between it? Your build root is probably pretty messed up. That should be done.

I've rehosted the config file just incase:
https://pastebin.com/V7isLpwG
It is the same albeit with arping included as well.
I tried again, with your new config, new git clone checked on the 1.11.0 tag, same problem :(

Image
Buffalo WBMR-HP-G300H

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6751
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: compile build failed

Post by Lantis »

Grab the master branch instead. That is what my config is aimed at. Sorry for the confusion.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

User avatar
pyed
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:14 am

Re: compile build failed

Post by pyed »

Lantis wrote:Grab the master branch instead. That is what my config is aimed at. Sorry for the confusion.
tried with master, same problem with the minimum password length.

your config contains many packages that I don't actually need, and I assume one of these packages is causing this error during compilation.
Buffalo WBMR-HP-G300H

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6751
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: compile build failed

Post by Lantis »

Well, yes, but you can't live without busybox which is what is generating the error. And the config works fine here. It would be nice if someone else would test the build, but it seems a bit fruitless.
Usually that kind of error happens when it can't resolve new config settings because it doesn't know about them (note the "new" flag).

So what is different between the two environments?
What OS are you building on? Did you install all dependencies?
What exact sequence of commands are you running to initiate the build? What is the structure of your new lantiq target folders/files?

Oh and one big thing i just noticed.
Don't build as "root". This could be causing the problem also.
Operate under a regular user, git clone to a new folder (so that user owns everything) and then build there.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Post Reply