Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

runner75
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:00 pm
Location: Venezuela

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by runner75 »

Lantis wrote:The final version is already available from the downloads page.
1.9.X is available through the show and tell forum.



Sorry, in which section download? Forum or other site :roll:
My Net WD750

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5424
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by Lantis »

runner75 wrote:
Lantis wrote:The final version is already available from the downloads page.
1.9.X is available through the show and tell forum.



Sorry, in which section download? Forum or other site :roll:



1.9.0 available here: https://www.gargoyle-router.com/download.php
1.9.X (latest version) will be found in this forum: https://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/v ... m.php?f=14
Just make sure you check the date to get the latest one (which is currently January 4, 2016)
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

bedrock
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 9:25 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by bedrock »

Thanks for 0 support for developer(s) (they neither replied here nor via email..) I change to openwrt...

danymarc
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by danymarc »

bedrock wrote:Thanks for 0 support for developer(s) (they neither replied here nor via email..) I change to openwrt...

And switching off with OpenWrt you solved the issue?

bedrock
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 9:25 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by bedrock »

Yes, openwrt works well.

mates
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:53 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by mates »

Hi
i am using ISPY 1.9.x

under menu System / Identification I changed hostname from Gargoyle to router

when i export settings than I see that now under host file that I have 2 records for one IP

192.168.1.1 Gargoyle
192.168.1.1 routr

it is bug? or is it ok

Volaris
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by Volaris »

bedrock wrote:Thanks for 0 support for developer(s) (they neither replied here nor via email..) I change to openwrt...

There's no fix to your problem. Problem is the router is 4MB flash (or less since it probably has Netgear emergency firmware flash option), which isn't enough for Gargoyle. OpenWRT (which Gargoyle is based on) is smaller because it lacks uPNP, QoS, and other things by default. If you want to run Gargoyle, I recommend a router with 16MB flash (8MB minimum).

How do I know this? I own On Networks N150R routers, which are rebadged Netgear WNR612v2, which is almost identical to Netgear WNR2000v3 (only difference is more LAN ports). Similarly, the N150R/WNR612v2 cannot run Gargoyle (settings lost due to lack of space).
QoS Tip: Don't complicate your QoS settings. Gargoyle evenly splits available bandwidth between active devices as needed. Just delete all your classification rules and leave only one normal service class and you're done. No more arguing over bandwidth.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4763
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by ispyisail »

mates wrote:Hi
i am using ISPY 1.9.x

under menu System / Identification I changed hostname from Gargoyle to router

when i export settings than I see that now under host file that I have 2 records for one IP

192.168.1.1 Gargoyle
192.168.1.1 routr

it is bug? or is it ok


Can you failsafe reset to check for repeatability?

meazz1
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:40 pm
Location: Auburn, GA. USA

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by meazz1 »

Is there no firmware generated for TP-Link WR842 in iSpy build? I could not find it in the Show and Tell section of the forum where all the nightly build are generated.
Is it possible to add this to the nightly or trunk so I can test the latest code?
I asked this in a different thread and hoping to get an answer here.

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=8250

mates
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:53 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Post by mates »

ispyisail wrote:Can you failsafe reset to check for repeatability?


for clean installation i got same result
but router is working OK (i do not know if it is ok behavior)

Post Reply