Blocking UDP and IP Ports

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
tals
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:27 am

Blocking UDP and IP Ports

Post by tals »

Hi

With Gargoyle is possible to block UDP and TCP ports. I can't seem to find an option in the settings and blocking ports doesn't say whether the port is UDP or TCP?
Netgear wndr3700 v2 Gargoyle 1.8.0
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 1.10.X (Built 20180122-0707)

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Blocking UDP and IP Ports

Post by nworbnhoj »

Gargoyle - Firewall - Restrictions - Access Restrictions

Restricted Resources UNTICK All Network Access
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

tals
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:27 am

Re: Blocking UDP and IP Ports

Post by tals »

Understood but how do you differentiate between a tcp and a udp port
Netgear wndr3700 v2 Gargoyle 1.8.0
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 1.10.X (Built 20180122-0707)

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Blocking UDP and IP Ports

Post by nworbnhoj »

When I UNTICK All Network Access then 6 options are revealed
remote IPs
Remote Ports
Local ports
TRANSPORT PROTOCOL
Application Protocol
Website URLs

do you not get these options? what version?
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

tals
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:27 am

Re: Blocking UDP and IP Ports

Post by tals »

Sorry I should be clearer, I'm trying to block specific udp and tcp ports, so the network will work but I can then block some applications (steam etc)
Netgear wndr3700 v2 Gargoyle 1.8.0
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 1.10.X (Built 20180122-0707)

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Blocking UDP and IP Ports

Post by nworbnhoj »

Local Port(s): Block Only 27000-27015
Transport Protocol: Block UDP
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

ektus
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 2:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Blocking UDP and IP Ports

Post by ektus »

Old thread, current problem:

I want to block UDP access to two distinct external ports while allowing everything else for one device on my network. Is there a way to achieve this with the GUI? I've seen the device contacting at least 30 different external IPs, so adding all of them would be cumbersome.

Is it possible to add more than one port number to a rule?

edit: looks like it is by adding a comma and a second port (like 9310,9110). Don't know if this will allow other ports, though. Will the following rule set do what I want?

Remote IPs: Block all
Remote Ports: Block Only 9310,9110
Local Ports: Block all
Transport Protocol: Block UDP
Application Protocol: Block All
Website URL(s): Block All

Regards
Ektus.

Post Reply