/etc is not writeable: No space left on device?

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
schorsch
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:33 pm

/etc is not writeable: No space left on device?

Post by schorsch »

Hi @all,

TP-Link WA901ND, Gargoyle 1.7.0

Problem:

Code: Select all

root@BAR-WLC06:/tmp# crontab -e
crontab: can't open '/etc/crontabs.16205': No space left on device

root@BAR-WLC06:/tmp# df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs                  320.0K    256.0K     64.0K  80% /
/dev/root                 2.5M      2.5M         0 100% /rom
tmpfs                    14.1M    428.0K     13.7M   3% /tmp
/dev/mtdblock3          320.0K    256.0K     64.0K  80% /overlay
overlayfs:/overlay      320.0K    256.0K     64.0K  80% /
tmpfs                   512.0K         0    512.0K   0% /dev
64KB available, why doesn't it work and how I can start cron at boot time?


[EDIT]/etc is not writeable, why?[/EDIT]

[EDIT]after update to 1.7.1 everything is ok[EDIT]

Many thanks!

User avatar
schorsch
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:33 pm

Re: /etc is not writeable: No space left on device?

Post by schorsch »

same problem after a few days: cron daemon is not running, crontab says "No space left on device" and /etc is not writeable :(

Code: Select all

df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs                  320.0K    260.0K     60.0K  81% /
/dev/root                 2.5M      2.5M         0 100% /rom
tmpfs                    14.1M     84.0K     14.1M   1% /tmp
/dev/mtdblock3          320.0K    260.0K     60.0K  81% /overlay
overlayfs:/overlay      320.0K    260.0K     60.0K  81% /
tmpfs                   512.0K         0    512.0K   0% /dev
Is it a known problem?

User avatar
schorsch
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:33 pm

Re: /etc is not writeable: No space left on device?

Post by schorsch »

running out of Inodes?!

Code: Select all

for i in /*; do echo $i; find $i | wc -l; done
/bin          53
/dev          42
/etc          217
/lib          227
/mnt          1
/overlay      127
/plugin_root  34
/proc         3858  # <- ???!!!
/rom          1127
/root         1
/sbin         45
/sys          5878  # <- ???!!!
/tmp          43
/usr          384
/var          1
/www          201
What's going on there?

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: /etc is not writeable: No space left on device?

Post by DoesItMatter »

You're running out of space

4MB of flash is just not enough space for
Barrier Breaker builds of Gargoyle

You should stick with 1.6.2 on that router

Or build your own OpenWRT builds with features you need
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

marrco
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: /etc is not writeable: No space left on device?

Post by marrco »

DoesItMatter wrote:You're running out of space

4MB of flash is just not enough space for
Barrier Breaker builds of Gargoyle

You should stick with 1.6.2 on that router

Or build your own OpenWRT builds with features you need
i'm using the gargoyle-ispy http://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/vi ... =14&t=6878 on a 4mb device and apart from minor issues it runs fine. Is there a way to recomplile gargoyle without some features in order to have more free space left on the device? Or maybe we could use par of tmp that's on tmpfs for something.

User avatar
schorsch
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:33 pm

Re: /etc is not writeable: No space left on device?

Post by schorsch »

DoesItMatter wrote:You're running out of space
...You should stick with 1.6.2 on that router

Or build your own OpenWRT builds with features you need
Thanks for your answer, I've downgraded to 1.6.2.

I build my own OpenWRT already since a couple of months for a TP-Link WA901ND v3 (Access Point Mode), but for my two v2 I need the pure "Client Mode", not a "Bridge". So far I know, the Client Mode is not supported with OpenWRT on Atheros chipsets and Gargoyle patches something.

Is there any way to get the "pure WLAN client" patch?

Post Reply