Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby Cralis » Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:53 am

Hi all,

I am running a TP Link Archer D7 as my modem, in full bridge mode to my TP Link TL-WR1043N/ND v3. I am running firmware 1.9.0, which I believe was just modified by changing the headers from the V2 firmware?

Anyway, my speed has been an issue. I used to achieve around 700kbps and SpeedTest site reporting 7.2mbps.

But I have dropped to around 2.9mpbs...

I blamed my ISP...

But then I noticed a few glitches with the firmware (Reported elsewhere). So, I decided to connect a PC direct to my D7, bypassing the router, and added the ADSL credentials back. And bang! 7.1mbps!

Went back to the router - 2.6mbps.

What I have done:

Factory refreshed the D7.
Disabled wifi
Did not add the ADSL stuff when rebooting.
Left DHCP on
Left everything on the D& as is.

Connected LAN1 to WAN port on the WR1043N/ND v3
Set PPOE Wired (Static)
Put in ADSL credentails
Left the rest as is

Router IP 192.168.1.1
DNS: Google
DHCP Enabled

No idea what to do... seems the router is slowing me down. Not sure if it had the same issue in stock firmware.
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby nworbnhoj » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:29 pm

Gargoyle 1.9.0 has some issues. Try this more recent build which is working well for people
https://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/v ... =14&t=8765
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby Cralis » Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:44 pm

yeah, going to do that, My only worry is that the issues I am having are not mentioned in the change log.

That is, very slow speeds when going through the router (As opposed to just the modem), and a strange thing where hosts are not showing up in the drop down list for the filters for the graphs.

so I am fearful that I flash - and risk bricking at worst, and find the same issues. Best case - all my problems go away. :)

Also, I don't have a torrent client. :(
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby tapper » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:48 am

Wich bin do you want? I will download and then put the bin in dropbox. There has bin lots of changes in the code since 1.9 was posted. There has bin a bump of Openwrt + a lot of tweaks of the webinterface. For changes see here:
https://www.gargoyle-router.com/gargoyl ... /revisions
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby Cralis » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:54 am

As you sent, I downloaded uTorrent and am downloading all 352mb. Thanks for the assistance though. Going to flash now. If I'm not back soon - it bricked. :)
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby Cralis » Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:14 am

Just to confirm... I need to use

gargoyle_1.9.x-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr1043nd-v3-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

As I am currently on Gargoyle 1.9.0 on my WR1043 V3.

The Upgrade is the right one?

It worried me that on the Firmware Update page under system, it specifically says:

"Firmware should be a combined .img file"

But I have a .bin file. :(

Also, it seems like using "Preserve Settings" is unrecommended?
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5200
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby Lantis » Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:30 am

.bin is fine as long as it's the sysupgrade.

I would not preserve from 1.9.0
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby Cralis » Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:52 am

So far so good!

1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69)

:)

And internet speed is good! Getting all my DHCP stuff setup (Named hostnames and reserved IPs).
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby Cralis » Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:59 am

Still going strong!
8.07 Mbps... :) Was around 2.5Mbps on 1.9.0.
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Oh no, speed issues, I think.

Postby Cralis » Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:03 am

Mmm..

Added QOS with default settings for upload and download.
Speedtest.net dropped to 2.47Mbps.

Removed QOS - Back to 8.11Mbps.
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.


Return to “Hardware / Installation Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests