Page 1 of 2

Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:16 am
by GAChuck
I received this router from Amazon yesterday. I read about the problems with newer TP-Link Archer C7 installs and my understanding of it all is that a patch for the new flash chip has been incorporated into 1.90. (Did I get that wrong?)

So after downloading "gargoyle_1.9.0-ar71xx-generic-archer-c7-v2-squashfs-factory.bin" and renaming it to "Gargoyle.bin" I am seeing the following error message when attempting to install using the factory firmware upgrade option:

"Error Code: 18005
Upgrade unsuccessfully because the version of the upgraded file was incorrect. Please check the file name."

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated!

Re: Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:06 am
by meazz1
why are you changing the name? Is it instructed somewhere to do so?

Re: Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:42 am
by tapper
Hi it dont matter about the name.

We have 2 problems here:

1 TP-Link have bin blocking installs of thirdparty firmware.

2 the bin file off the home page is not the one you want to flash anyway.

here's what you need to do:

1. Flash with DD-WRT 3rd party software. It's a specific beta version, made to get around this US version issue:
http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/do ... wrt-US.bin
2. Flash again with a unique revert firmware made to take back to TP-Lilnk factory from DD-WRT. In this case, it take me back to FW version 3.13.34 Build 131217 Rel 60903n.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic. ... 939#936939
Note: you need to create an account on dd-wrt.com to see the files.

3. the Archer should able to flash to Gargoyle 1.9 using the factory bin.
You need to use the file from here:
https://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/v ... =14&t=8637

Re: Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:48 pm
by tapper
Thinking about it skip step 2.
Flash strate from ddwrt step 1 to Gargoyle in step 3 if you can as ddwrt and new Gargoyle have the code to run on the updated flash chip.

Re: Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:34 pm
by Lantis
The patch isn't in 1.9.0 it's in 1.9.X.

Re: Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 5:56 pm
by drewis
Hey guys got my C7 v2 today, here's another success story.

Had same problem as OP. This method slightly differs from tappers above.


Re: Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 11:28 am
by GeorgeBiF
I'm a total newbie at this and garbled my first message. Can you confirm if this is the correct order to get gargoyle installed on my new Archer C7 V2 (arrived via amazon just 7 days ago)?

Step 1: Flash
http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/do ... wrt-US.bin

I completed Step 1. But step 3 (since step 2 is not needed for 1.9.x) is not working for me.

Step 3: Flash
http://lantisproject.com/gargoyle_custo ... actory.bin

I went back to try step 2, but the flash reports successful installation, but I am still at ddwrt. It did not revert.

Any help appreciated.

Re: Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 1:26 pm
by GAChuck
Thank you for all the responses, and my apologies for not replying sooner. My job keeps me on the road quite a bit.

meazz1 wrote:why are you changing the name? Is it instructed somewhere to do so?


Yes, the instructions for the C7 says to try this if you experience problems.

Tapper and drewis: Thank you both.. I will try what you suggested later tonight (hopefully).

Tapper: if what drewis wrote is valid, then I will need to do your 2nd step? Or is there some difference I missed in the DD-WRT version Tapper flashed? For reasons you will see below, I am more comfortable with your process (even with Step 2 included), but if necessary I'm sure I can eventually stumble my way through drewis' method (it might be easier than I'm thinking, but I never like to underestimate my own ineptitude ;) )

Lantis wrote:The patch isn't in 1.9.0 it's in 1.9.X.

This is what I downloaded and tried to install:
http://lantisproject.com/gargoyle_custom/Archer-C7-V2-NewChipPatch/gargoyle_1.9.x-ar71xx-generic-archer-c7-v2-squashfs-factory.bin

Is that still the best package for this router?

On a side note: I've been out of IT for a long time and haven't worked with a linux system in 15 years. Does anyone have suggestions on resources/primers for noobs?

Re: Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 3:05 pm
by tapper
Hi the bin you have from lantis is the best one to flash and the method that drewis: posted sounds like the best way to go as long you are ok with using the command line. You can use putty to ssh in to your router. The way i posted will stil work but drewis's way will be faster.

Re: Archer C7 V.2 Installation Error

Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 8:35 am
by GeorgeBiF
Another happy Archer C7 V2 installation with Gargoyle 1.9.x...

Thanks for all the expert help from this forum. I followed the 3 step procedure from lantis. As a newbie, it took a while to figure out how to see the files on dd-wrt and then figure out that I had to decompress the .rar file to get the .bin. (zero experience with linux or unix)