Gargoyle randomly not save options

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4706
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby ispyisail » Sat Nov 07, 2015 6:33 pm

screen shot of you status page is a good start

t333to
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:41 am

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby t333to » Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:44 am

Yes, this is a frustrating issue with Gargoyle. I have a bunch of TP Links (such as WR741ND v2, WR740N ver4, ...) and this happens on all of them after a couple of options are changed.

And the problem is storage!

If you login to the router over SCP with WinSCP for example and try to delete a file or change something, you can't you get the following error:
Command 'rm -f -r "top-gradient-logo.png"'
failed with return code 1 and error message
rm: can't remove 'top-gradient-logo.png': No space left on device.

So what happens is that after a few settings changed in Gargoyle there is no space left on the device... After that the only thing you can do is re-flash Gargoyle as no new settings can be saved neither can you delete anything... Basically you have a bricked router.

Funny thing is that if I go to plugins page it actually says that there is still space (Root Drive 320.000 kBytes Total, 56.000 kBytes Free).

Can developers look into this?

t333to
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:41 am

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby t333to » Wed Nov 18, 2015 4:08 pm

I'm wondering, if I for example delete all Gargoyle images, or some .sh files that are used in the web interface, does that leave me with more room for settings?


I managed to install a PPTP client and use the auto reboot function without completely using the available space on a 4mb router. It is really random how the space fills, if you firstly install the PPTP client and try to use auto reboot function it'll fill the space, I then firstly tired setting the auto reboot and then the PPTP client and the space wasn't used, so I could still change the firewall settings (now via SCP).

I have WiFi disabled tho, if I enable it the space will get full probably? That's a problem if I anytime later wanted to add a port forwarding to the firewall and I won't be able...

t333to
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:41 am

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby t333to » Fri Nov 20, 2015 8:09 am

What kind of things does Gargoyle save to the ROM? Logs? Bandwidth info? Is it possible to disable altogether?

Another question I'm wondering is, why on earth does the root file under crontabs get deleted?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5212
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby Lantis » Fri Nov 20, 2015 8:21 am

It shouldn't. That would indicate you're out of space.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

t333to
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:41 am

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby t333to » Fri Nov 20, 2015 10:32 am

You are right, the storage was full again. ;)

So, is this all because od 4mb ROM or does the system eventually eat all free space either ways?

What is then a safe bet, 16, 32 or would maybe 8mb be enough?

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby nworbnhoj » Fri Nov 20, 2015 3:10 pm

t333to wrote:What is then a safe bet, 16, 32 or would maybe 8mb be enough?


http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/dok ... ed_routers
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

tomayw
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 5:12 am

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby tomayw » Sat Nov 21, 2015 6:17 am

I checked the last 2 different versions of hardware - exactly TP-LINK 740N v4 and TP-LINK 841ND v8. For each model were problems with saving options, randomly managed to change the page where the timing of 12/24, the name of the router, etc. They do not work properly gargoyle versions 1.6, 1.7, 1.8. After uploading the 1.9 generally each option is writable, but I can not overdub any additional packages, change the language etc. I am glad that enroll all options such as QoS and others. Below dump after the entry into plug-ins (only themes are available)

http://prntscr.com/9573jz
http://prntscr.com/9573s1
http://prntscr.com/957403

t333to
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:41 am

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby t333to » Wed Nov 25, 2015 2:26 pm

nworbnhoj wrote:
t333to wrote:What is then a safe bet, 16, 32 or would maybe 8mb be enough?


http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/dok ... ed_routers


Yea, but is 8mb a safe bet? I fear that down the road it would get filled with some log files or other kind of data.

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Gargoyle randomly not save options

Postby nworbnhoj » Wed Dec 02, 2015 11:52 pm

8MB Flash is plenty for Gargoyle
I run TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 with 8MB Flash and 128MB RAM
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E


Return to “Hardware / Installation Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests