TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Sidreams
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:41 am

TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by Sidreams »

I've a TP LINK WR841N running gargoyle_1.8.0. I've been using for the last 1 month. But for the past 2 weeks im seeing the router getting rebooted randomly.
At any time the max devices connected wont exceed 6
The internet connection is fine.
I suspect the possible reasons below
1. The router is unable to handle larger downloads as we see disconnection during downloading files/even youtubing. While just browsing it never reboots
2. I've connected both the router and the modem in a single electrical socket using a socket splitter

Please advise what could be the issue im facing. Its a new router just 1 month old. I cannot contact TP Link as im running gargoyle..
Please assist

Asleeo
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:32 pm

Re: TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by Asleeo »

I have the exact same problem but with a Netgear WNDR3800. It apparently happens when too many devices are connected in the same time (shared flat + songs = 15 devices mainly by wifi).
Any idea where the issue is coming from ?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4855
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by ispyisail »

somebody else has suggest it might be quotas?

If enabled can you turn off quotas to confirm?

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by DoesItMatter »

You may be getting overheating issues with the router.

Make sure it is getting plenty of airflow.

If you can - see if you can put a small fan blowing air at it.

When you have all the downloads going, you are putting the most
stress on the CPU, and if the heatsink (if there is one) isn't fastened
correctly, it's not dissipating the heat.

Being TP-Link, it may not even have a heat sink.
I doubt it's your power -- I suspect heat issue as those newer models
have increased the speed of the CPU (which generates more heat)
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

Asleeo
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:32 pm

Re: TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by Asleeo »

FYI, for my Netgear WNDR3800, the issue was definitely the quotas.

I have made some tests and the heat may have had some impacts, but I solved the problem when turning off the quotas.

Thanks to both of you !

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4855
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by ispyisail »

thanks for reporting

acknowledged bug

Sidreams
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:41 am

Re: TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by Sidreams »

Hi all,

Apologies for replying late. I've never seen my router getting heated. Im living in a cool place and the room also gets plenty of air and always cool. The router doesnt have a fan though but has enough openings at the back to dissipate the heat. Image

As I told I've tested often and never felt any heat comin out of it.
And if I have to disable the quota to solve this, then theres no meaning for me to use Gargoyle as I've installed Gargoyle only for the quotas.

I've tried changing sockets, using google dns nothing works. Please suggest anything other than disabling quotas...
Thank you all.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4855
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by ispyisail »

use 1.6.2 or try 1.9.x

1.9.x
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=7828

Sidreams
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:41 am

Re: TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by Sidreams »

sysupgraded to 1.9.0 / I havent tried preserving the settings of course.

Now thers a weird issue. I've added the quota but its not showin up in the quota usage or the home screen of the users where it was used to show the quota usage.

It shows only 0 as below. pls assist
Image
Image

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: TP Link WR841N reboots randomly

Post by nworbnhoj »

You need to assign a static IP to each of the devices that you want to apply an individual quota to, because DHCP will dynamically change the IP of each device each time it connects.

This might help http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/dok ... -teenagers
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

Post Reply