Page 11 of 30

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 5:38 pm
by Luke-Jr
Buffalo WZR-600DHP seems to work. I won't be contributing to the wiki anymore, however, as the captcha is too difficult. Took about 10 tries to register and 5 tries to edit.

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 12:41 pm
by aDEO
Successfully flashed my Buffalo WHR-G300N2 with Buffalo WHR-G301N firmware (latest 1.5.10).

From SSH (latest DD-WRT for WHR-G300N2):

Code: Select all

cd /tmp
wget http://www.gargoyle-router.com/downloads/images/ar71xx/gargoyle_1.5.10-ar71xx-generic-whr-g301n-squashfs-tftp.bin
mtd -r write gargoyle_1.5.10-ar71xx-generic-whr-g301n-squashfs-tftp.bin linux
The router is rock solid!

To add a security light support add the following lines in /etc/config/system file:

Code: Select all

config led 'led_security'
option name 'SECURITY'
option default '0'
option sysfs 'buffalo:orange:security'
option trigger 'netdev'
option dev 'wlan0'
option mode 'link tx rx'
To add wifi toggle button support:

Put the following script in /sbin named toggle as follow:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
SW=$(uci -q get wireless.@wifi-device[0].disabled)
[ "$SW" == "1" ] && uci set wireless.@wifi-device[0].disabled=0
[ "$SW" == "1" ] || uci set wireless.@wifi-device[0].disabled=1
wifi
Make it executable by:

Code: Select all

chmod +x /sbin/toggle
And after that add the button handler as follow:

Code: Select all

if [ "$BUTTON" = "wps" ] && [ "$ACTION" = "pressed" ] ; then
        ( sleep 1; /sbin/toggle ) &
fi
Cheers,
aDEO

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2013 1:53 am
by coits
Hi All,

I have a buffalo wzr-hp-ag300h router and I'm using the ddwrt professional firmware on it. it was running fine even though QoS is broken, but decided to try flashing gargoyle firmware on it as all of a sudden the router's ethernet ports are not working. but, wifi seems alright.
I'm too frustrated and wasted so much time creating QoS scripts on ddwrt to fit my needs on asterisk server.

Anyway, I decided to give gargoyle a try and want to flash 1.5.10.
But, seems undecided as it is still under experimental.
I gamble as the saying says "No Guts, No Glory!", and I'm glad I did!

Shown below are the procedure how I flash this firmware using tftp on arch linux.
1. sudo pacman -Sy tftp ->install tftp under arch
2. sudo ufw disable -> disable ufw linux firewall
3. make sure that you can ping the router @192.168.11.1
4. sudo ifconfig eth0:1 192.168.11.2
5. sudo arp -s 192.168.11.1 02:aa:bb:cc:dd:20
6. unplug the router
7. tftp 192.168.11.1
8. tftp>binary
9. tftp>rexmt 1
10. tftp>timeout 60
11. tftp>connect 192.168.11.1
12. tftp> put gargoyle_1.5.10-ar71xx-generic-wzr-hp-ag300h-squashfs-tftp.bin
13. power on your router as soon as you hit enter above. (wait for approx. 10 minutes, until the blinking stops and voila!)

Special thanks to Eric who is the lead developer and the admin of this forum, and also to Paul who created ACC and Enhances QoS, and to all the developers out there who contribute a lot of making this firmware superb, your effort and hard work are greatly appreciated. My Asterisk server is now rock solid! :-) Thank you all!!!

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 7:15 am
by Angelodv
Hi all,

tp-link wr1043nd flashed and almost 3 days online, second router
bricked.
Nice work guys and thank you.

Angelo

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:01 am
by millie
aDEO wrote:Successfully flashed my Buffalo WHR-G300N2 with Buffalo WHR-G301N firmware (latest 1.5.10).

From SSH (latest DD-WRT for WHR-G300N2):

Code: Select all

cd /tmp
wget http://www.gargoyle-router.com/downloads/images/ar71xx/gargoyle_1.5.10-ar71xx-generic-whr-g301n-squashfs-tftp.bin
mtd -r write gargoyle_1.5.10-ar71xx-generic-whr-g301n-squashfs-tftp.bin linux
The router is rock solid!

To add a security light support add the following lines in /etc/config/system file:

Code: Select all

config led 'led_security'
option name 'SECURITY'
option default '0'
option sysfs 'buffalo:orange:security'
option trigger 'netdev'
option dev 'wlan0'
option mode 'link tx rx'
To add wifi toggle button support:

Put the following script in /sbin named toggle as follow:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
SW=$(uci -q get wireless.@wifi-device[0].disabled)
[ "$SW" == "1" ] && uci set wireless.@wifi-device[0].disabled=0
[ "$SW" == "1" ] || uci set wireless.@wifi-device[0].disabled=1
wifi
Make it executable by:

Code: Select all

chmod +x /sbin/toggle
And after that add the button handler as follow:

Code: Select all

if [ "$BUTTON" = "wps" ] && [ "$ACTION" = "pressed" ] ; then
        ( sleep 1; /sbin/toggle ) &
fi
Cheers,
aDEO
Hi aDEO

I have just got a WHR-N300v2 and wondered if you managed to get OpenVPN working with the gargoyle firmware that you have managed to put on.

Thanks

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:35 am
by spwalmsley
Just flashed Gargoyle 1.5.11 onto a new TL-Link TL-WDR4300 hardware version 1.6. Installation was easy - I downloaded the "factory" binary image, shortened the filename to "gargoyle.bin" (not sure if this was required but saw a few posts that suggested it), and then used the factory firmware upgrade page to apply the image.

Although I haven't done extensive tests, I have been able to connect both wired and wireless hosts to the unit and to configure user quotas (the reason I chose Gargoyle in the first place). So far so good!

I'd like to thank all the developers for their work on this project, particularly the effort made to keep recent updates current with the wireless driver code from OpenWRT which enables support of newer hardware versions.

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 5:34 pm
by tapper
wrt160nl 1.5.11 flashed from ddwrt 22000 all went ok

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:42 pm
by tehpensfan
Firmware upgrade through web interface from stock
TP-Link tl-wr740n h/w 4.23 ->
gargoyle_1.5.11-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr740n-v4-squashfs-factory.bin
TP-Link tl-wdr3600 h/w 1.3 ->
gargoyle_1.5.11-ar71xx-generic-tl-wdr3600-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

Didn't run into any issues

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:30 am
by ddahl
Got a second TP-LINK TL-WR1043ND router to bridge with another of the same model also running Gargoyle. This second one has hardware version of 1.11. Was able to successfully flash it using the file gargoyle_1.5.11-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr1043nd-v1-squashfs-factory.bin.

In order to flash from the TP Link firmware's update option, the file was renamed to "firmware.bin" before the upload.

Flash took correctly on first try with no issues. Router has been running Gargoyle 1.5.11 for a day with exellent results.

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 9:44 pm
by tbv
I successfully flashed Gargoyle 1.5.11 on my TP-Link TL-WA730RE v1. As this model is not officially supported, I used the version for the TL-WA701N v1 (these two models are virtually identical, it is hard to tell the differences between them).

The TL-WA730RE stock firmware does not allow flashing of Gargoyle TL-WA701N version (incorrect firmware version error occurs). So I had to follow these steps:

1) flashed DD-WRT;
2) while in DD-WRT, flashed firmware "webrevert for TL-WA701ND v1" (taken from DD-WRT forums) to return to TL-WA701ND stock firmware;
3) after booting the "new" stock firmware, flashed Gargoyle TL-WA701N v1 version.

The router is working perfectly since then. It would be nice to have a native version of Gargoyle for the TL-WA730RE, to make things easier.