TL-WDR4300 'Router Storage full (read only)...' after 1.12 flash

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

kilmer009

TL-WDR4300 'Router Storage full (read only)...' after 1.12 flash

Post by kilmer009 »

I hope I didn't just brick my router (yet).

Complete newb to Gargoyle, but the latest version of my stock FW was garbage so I thought I'd try it.

I thought I read through the instructions very carefully.

I upgraded the stock FW to the latest version from TP-LINK, and then directly to Gargoyle v1.12 stable (via factory.bin file)

The router flashed great, booted right into Gargoyle, but now I'm seeing an error:

'Router storage full (read only) or is mounted in volatile storage (RAM). It will not function correctly, or will revert to a previous state after rebooting. Restore default configuration or flash new firmware (without preserving settings).'

Was I wrong in assuming that 1.12 stable was fully compatible? Should I have flashed from the original FW, not the latest version?

I'm freaked out that I'll brick it if I reboot.

What's my next step here?
(Sorry, tried to search the forum but the search wasn't functioning for me for some reason)

Lantis

Re: TL-WDR4300 'Router Storage full (read only)...' after 1.12 flash

Post by Lantis »

That message can appear during the first minute after booting as a false positive until the full filesystem has been mounted.
The problem hasn't resolved itself has it?

If not, it would be helpful to see the output of

Code: Select all

df -h
on the command line

It is possible that the firmware is too large for the device now, but I have not seen any other reports, even from similar devices. The other issue is that when first boot configurations are generated they can then fill the device if it is borderline oversized.