Archer C7V2 (1.12.0) boot loop (every minute)

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
rseiler
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:31 am

Archer C7V2 (1.12.0) boot loop (every minute)

Post by rseiler »

Someone reported a boot loop issue some years ago that is the same as I saw this week with 1.12.0. The same way recommended there to make it stop (deleting BW data) is also what worked for me.
viewtopic.php?t=7149

The Archer C7V2 router in question had 1.12.0 on it for months. There had been no config changes for a month or two at least. The only thing that happened with the router in fairly close proximity to when it started happening was its normal scheduled weekly reboot. It started happening some unknown time after that and didn't stop until I noticed it over a day later and deleted BW data (the only reason I didn't notice it earlier is that it happened on a Sunday).

Is there any way to guard against this issue, assuming it wasn't a total fluke, especially without upgrading the build or disabling BW monitoring? If it was a fluke, it's awfully similar to the above.

I do see this in the release notes for changes post 1.12, but it's about the V1. It seems like it might be related though.
https://github.com/ericpaulbishop/gargo ... ab1e6b945a

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5727
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Archer C7V2 (1.12.0) boot loop (every minute)

Post by Lantis »

It is most likely the timewarp bug, for which I still don't have a reliable way to trigger it, and therefore no good way to find out exactly what's wrong.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

MickO
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 7:25 am

Re: Archer C7V2 (1.12.0) boot loop (every minute)

Post by MickO »

Also had a boot loop on a WRT1200acV2 yesterday with version 1.12.0. Had been stable for weeks and not touched. I can't remember if a weekly Sunday restart was scheduled, but the call for help came Monday. I assumed, wrongly, that it was a hardware problem, swapped out the router, proved the issue and left. I've reflashed the router and will use it as a hot spare switch and AP. At the moment all looks fine, yet to be proved.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5727
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Archer C7V2 (1.12.0) boot loop (every minute)

Post by Lantis »

Curiously (and suspiciously) these bugs always show up near the dates when daylight savings kicks in or ends.

It is definitely related, or at least exacerbates the issue.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Post Reply