Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by tapper »

Hi people i just got me a wrt3200ACM.
How is Gargoyle on it?
Any thing I should watch out for?
How is it for other people and how is wifi?
I am going to swop out my wrt1900AC and use it as a extender/bridge.
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5382
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by Lantis »

I added support a while ago.
It's reasonable. There's something wrong with the interface I haven't looked at yet. It shouldn't cause problems.

Wifi driver is sketchy at best. It's under development.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by tapper »

Thanks for the heads up mate! Think i will wate a bit. If there is a new driver then let me know and i will test.
PS It's another one with a hot CPU Temperature: does it have a fan?
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5382
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by Lantis »

No fan. They do operate warm
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by tapper »

I have gone back to my wrt1900AC v2 for now the 5ghz is unstable for me. Will do more testing with next build.
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

takeitsbs
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:17 pm

Re: Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by takeitsbs »

Hey guys. Trying to decide between this one and the WRT1900AC/S. How is the most recent build on the WRT3200ACM?

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by tapper »

For gargoyle stick to the 1900 as the 3200 has crap wifi with Gargoyle. As the latest driver is not used + Gargoyle is still running a old kernel. Work has bin started on mooving Gargoyle to the latest LEDE code base with the latest drivers and kernel but i don't know how long it will take to get ready
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

takeitsbs
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:17 pm

Re: Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by takeitsbs »

tapper wrote:For gargoyle stick to the 1900 as the 3200 has crap wifi with Gargoyle. As the latest driver is not used + Gargoyle is still running a old kernel. Work has bin started on mooving Gargoyle to the latest LEDE code base with the latest drivers and kernel but i don't know how long it will take to get ready


Thank you for the info! :)

Reesey
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:24 am

Re: Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by Reesey »

Hello, newbie to the forum.
Just wondering if there was any news regarding the use of Gargoyle on the WRT3200?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4736
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Gargoyle and the wrt3200ACM

Post by ispyisail »

Reesey wrote:Hello, newbie to the forum.
Just wondering if there was any news regarding the use of Gargoyle on the WRT3200?


Do you mean this one?

Image

If so, yes

Post Reply