Compiling under Windows

Discuss the technical details of Gargoyle and ongoing development

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5720
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Compiling under Windows

Post by Lantis »

Under Windows 10 we may soon be able to compile gargoyle without a VM
:)
http://www.lifehacker.com.au/2016/03/wh ... evelopers/
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Compiling under Windows

Post by tapper »

This will make me verry happy as screen readers on linux are shit! lol :geek:
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

StopSpazzing
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: Compiling under Windows

Post by StopSpazzing »

Lantis wrote:Under Windows 10 we may soon be able to compile gargoyle without a VM
:)
http://www.lifehacker.com.au/2016/03/wh ... evelopers/


I'm going to test this later today, since I'm a windows insider. Maybe it will work without too much issue... :lol:

robnitro
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:50 pm

Re: Compiling under Windows

Post by robnitro »

tapper wrote:This will make me verry happy as screen readers on linux are shit! lol :geek:


Haha, amen brother. I was told by a programmer friend that vi and emacs are the greatest thing. I guess it's like those people who held onto dos file managers even though windows had a simple useful gui- file explorer.

Until I found nano, I was really tired of text editing. But even that tiny package is not even default inside openwrt/gargoyle, pfft.

As for this development, it still may not allow us to compile. It's just a shell, the applications will have to be ported. I'm not sure how it will handle the annoying mess of linux/unix case sensitivity too. I know it has some use especially way back, but it's frustrating when a script fails because someone forgot to type a capital letter, lol!

Post Reply