Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Discuss the technical details of Gargoyle and ongoing development

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
apvm
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 7:30 am

Re: Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Postby apvm » Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:34 am

Hope this will happen in the near future. Thank you again for the hard work.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Postby Lantis » Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:39 am

It is now being actively worked on.
WRT32X on 1.11.X
Various ar71xx/mvebu boards in a constant state of flux
www.lantisproject.com for custom builds and other projects
www.lantisproject.com/gargoyle_ispyisail/ for the latest releases

cn008
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Postby cn008 » Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:02 am

Thank you!
It is good to know it is being actively worked on.

I uninstalled LEDE from my c2600 and reverted to stock firmware. LEDE is a little difficult to use for a regular user, eg, installing packages to monitor bandwidth usage, USB support, etc.

BTW, TP-Link has an app(Tether) which can be installed on mobile phone and then you can manage(block/unblock) devices using the phone, this is very useful.

cn008
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Postby cn008 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:57 am

I just upgraded to Roger 500u and did a speed test, huge bufferbloat(above 200ms) so the quality & bufferbloat & overrall are all C.

I am using stock firmware on my c2600. (Tried using rogers modem+router and same result).

Will Gargoyle provide better performance?

Thanks.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Postby Lantis » Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:04 am

If set up correctly, Gargoyle will make the most of your connection.
But it can’t make miracles happen.

It also may not keep up with your 500mbps connection. Around 300 seems likely to me but I’m just guessing. It may perform admirably.
WRT32X on 1.11.X
Various ar71xx/mvebu boards in a constant state of flux
www.lantisproject.com for custom builds and other projects
www.lantisproject.com/gargoyle_ispyisail/ for the latest releases

cn008
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Postby cn008 » Sat Mar 24, 2018 8:42 pm

I enabled QOS on my c2600 and it is a little better.

I then tried with my tp link 841 which has Gargoyle v1.6.2 installed, I only get 66MB/S download speed even though I have 500u, but bufferbloat is A+, so it seems Gargoyle is much better on this. The 66MB/S speed probably is limited by the LAN port on the router.

Thanks.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Postby Lantis » Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:01 pm

No, it is likely limited by the slow CPU in the device.
WRT32X on 1.11.X
Various ar71xx/mvebu boards in a constant state of flux
www.lantisproject.com for custom builds and other projects
www.lantisproject.com/gargoyle_ispyisail/ for the latest releases

cn008
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Postby cn008 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:55 pm

Hi just checking on status of Gargoyle for C2600?
I tried the parent control on stock firmware, and it can only be applied on individual devices, ie, I have to add a device, then blacklist some website, which is not really good to use.
This method does not work well when I have my kids as standard user on my PC, as my PC will be listed as restricted device and cannot access router admin page.
Thanks.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Will Archer C2600 be supported? Will gargoyle use lede?

Postby Lantis » Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:54 pm

Gargoyle 1.11.X is still being worked on.
A build for your router won’t be natively produced at this stage from what I can tell, but you would certainly be able to compile it and let us know if it works and whether we should add it.
WRT32X on 1.11.X
Various ar71xx/mvebu boards in a constant state of flux
www.lantisproject.com for custom builds and other projects
www.lantisproject.com/gargoyle_ispyisail/ for the latest releases


Return to “Gargoyle Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests