Page 1 of 1

TOR plugin install fails

Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 7:01 pm
by nworbnhoj
I am running Gargoyle 1.6.2 on a TL-WR1043ND v2.

When I attempt to install the TOR plugin, the router says "Please wait while new settings are applied" and then returns to the list of plugins; but the TOR plugin is not installed. No error message.

I am able to install other plugins such as a theme or logread.

The Root Drive reports 1.078 MBytes free

When I attempt to visit http://www.gargoyle-router.com/packages ... xx/default then I get a "403 Forbidden" nginx/0.7.65

I had the TOR plugin running properly on Gargoyle 1.6.1

Any thoughts on how to resolve this? thanks!

Re: TOR plugin install fails

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:57 am
by ispyisail
failsafe reset?

Re: TOR plugin install fails

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:05 pm
by nworbnhoj
thank you ispyisail.

I "Backup Current Configuration", "Restore Default Configuration", selected timezone & language, configured a 3G connection, and installed TOR plugin successfully.

Also, I "Restore Old Configuration" and TOR plugin is still OK.

Next (out of interest), I uninstall TOR plugin and then the "Plugin List" reports that TOR "Package Cannot Be Installed (Insufficient Disk Space)". So it would appear that removing the TOR plugin might not free up the available space properly.

So thank you, my problem is solved, but there might be a little bug here worth tidying up.

Re: TOR plugin install fails

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:37 pm
by ispyisail
You can create more space by installing a USB data stick

Then installing all you want

Re: TOR plugin install fails

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 3:32 am
by nworbnhoj
nworbnhoj wrote:I "Backup Current Configuration", "Restore Default Configuration", selected timezone & language, configured a 3G connection, and installed TOR plugin successfully.

Also, I "Restore Old Configuration" and TOR plugin is still OK.


There is also another nuance here.

If the Backup was made when the TOR plugin was installed, then it is critical to load the TOR plugin before restoring from the backup. If you restore the backup first, then the TOR plugin will not install.

I do not really know the best place to document this behaviour - possibly because it feels more like a bug than a feature [nudge nudge ;)]

PS There is also the little memory release issue noted earlier in this thread!

[edit] PPS I will test this on 1.7.X just as soon as I can get it running on my WDR3600 :)