SWAP formatting is not working

If your problem doesn't fall into one of the other categories, report it here.

Moderator: Moderators

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

SWAP formatting is not working

Post by ispyisail »

SWAP formatting is not working

Gargoyle 1.5.4
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND v1-1.8

I was going to add some screen shots but it appears that you can't do that in this section?

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:~# mkswap /dev/sda2
mkswap: error: swap area needs to be at least 40kB
Usage: mkswap [-c] [-v0|-v1] [-pPAGESZ] [-L label] /dev/name [blocks]
root@Gargoyle:~#



Can somebody else confirm this fault

hnl_dk
Moderator
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:37 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by hnl_dk »

ispyisail wrote:SWAP formatting is not working

Gargoyle 1.5.4
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND v1-1.8

I was going to add some screen shots but it appears that you can't do that in this section?

that is because this is the news section ;)
Have you not already made a wiki document?
ispyisail wrote:

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:~# mkswap /dev/sda2
mkswap: error: swap area needs to be at least 40kB
Usage: mkswap [-c] [-v0|-v1] [-pPAGESZ] [-L label] /dev/name [blocks]
root@Gargoyle:~#


Can somebody else confirm this fault

Have you remembered to make the partition before trying to enable the swap area on /dev/sda2 ?
Router: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4
AP: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by ispyisail »

that is because this is the news section ;)
Have you not already made a wiki document?


point noted, sorry

I can't even now move my own post :(

I could of cause double post .......................

hnl_dk
Moderator
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:37 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by hnl_dk »

ispyisail wrote:
that is because this is the news section ;)
Have you not already made a wiki document?


point noted, sorry

I can't even now move my own post :(

I could of cause double post .......................

I had first thought that you wanted to show how you can setup SWAP, did first not get that you wanted to post a bug report.

I have now split the posts from the thread. Now you are able to post images.
Router: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4
AP: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: SWAP formatting is not working

Post by ispyisail »

Format drive 50/50

format1.png
format1.png (24.04 KiB) Viewed 6254 times


Format complete

format2.png
format2.png (6.3 KiB) Viewed 6254 times


see no change to the drive

format3.png
format3.png (22.99 KiB) Viewed 6254 times


Can anybody confirm this result?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: SWAP formatting is not working

Post by ispyisail »

point noted, sorry

I can't even now move my own post :(

I could of cause double post .......................


I need more sleep, I should have moved this myself

sorry again

hnl_dk
Moderator
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:37 pm

Re: SWAP formatting is not working

Post by hnl_dk »

I just tested it on my AP and it is working fine here.
try to unmount the partition and try again.
reboot the system after you have created the partitions.
Router: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4
AP: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: SWAP formatting is not working

Post by ispyisail »

try to unmount the partition and try again.


done

reboot the system after you have created the partitions.


Done

still the same results

what size was your drive?

what was your drive pre formatted with?

can you show the same screen shots with your results?

hnl_dk
Moderator
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:37 pm

Re: SWAP formatting is not working

Post by hnl_dk »

ispyisail wrote:...
still the same results

what size was your drive?

what was your drive pre formatted with?

can you show the same screen shots with your results?

It is a 2GB Kingston flash drive... I think that I had a FAT32 partition on it before trying this.

I can do it again... one moment...
Router: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4
AP: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4

hnl_dk
Moderator
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:37 pm

Re: SWAP formatting is not working

Post by hnl_dk »

Setting up the partitions.
Setting up the partitions.
gargoyle_format1.png (25.62 KiB) Viewed 6248 times
have setup a share.
have setup a share.
gargoyle_format2.png (41.09 KiB) Viewed 6248 times

But after doing this again and rebooting the system SWAP was not working.

I discovered that the SWAP area is not setup (mkswap), when the swap partition is setup (image one, in gargoyle called "format"). The SWAP area is first setup (mkswap) when you save the "shared disk" (look at image two).
Router: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4
AP: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4

Post Reply