DDNS cannot determine remote IP

If your problem doesn't fall into one of the other categories, report it here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
BJReplay
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2020 3:28 am
Location: Australia

DDNS cannot determine remote IP

Post by BJReplay »

Updated today to 1.12.0 on a NETGEAR WNDR3700 (v1).

Did not attempt to preserve settings.

Installed USB external storage and set up as extroot.

Installed DDNS plug in.

Set up of DDNS for zoneedit won't save setting (unless I mark it as disabled to save the first time) as it is unable to verify entry.

If I disable before saving, I can then enable, and attempt to force update, but the forced (and automatic) updates all fail, unable to determine remote ID.

From what I can see looking at

Note: URLs edited to allow posting.

Code: Select all

Sun Feb  2 18:15:41 2020 daemon[.]info ddns_gargoyle[15144]: Forcing update:
Sun Feb  2 18:15:41 2020 daemon[.]info ddns_gargoyle[15144]:      service provider=zonedit[.]com
Sun Feb  2 18:15:41 2020 daemon[.]info ddns_gargoyle[15144]:      domain=redacted[.]dashed-domain[.]com[.]au
Sun Feb  2 18:15:42 2020 daemon[.]info ddns_gargoyle[15144]:              Successfully retrieved local ip from url: https://api[.]my-ip[.]io/ip
Sun Feb  2 18:15:42 2020 daemon[.]info ddns_gargoyle[15144]:      local IP  = 175.32.183.nn
Sun Feb  2 18:15:42 2020 daemon[.]info ddns_gargoyle[15144]:      remote IP cannot be determined
Sun Feb  2 18:15:44 2020 daemon[.]info ddns_gargoyle[15144]:      Update failed
From what I can see, the call to remote_ip = lookup_domain_ip(test_domain) in ddns-gargoyle/src/ddns_updater.c must be returning null.

If I do a local nslookup for the target domain, it returns an IP as expected.

Anything else I can do to help debug?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: DDNS cannot determine remote IP

Post by Lantis »

NULL remote IP is ok.
To diagnose, try

Code: Select all

ewget https://[[USERNAME]]:[[PASSWORD]]@dynamic.zoneedit.com/auth/dynamic.html?host=[[DOMAIN]]&dnsto=[[IP]]
substituting the appropriate variables.

Or you can restart ddns in verbose mode and see if that offers any hints.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

BJReplay
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2020 3:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: DDNS cannot determine remote IP

Post by BJReplay »

Thanks. I'll see what happens when my IP next changes to see if it is just a false failure.
Or you can restart ddns in verbose mode and see if that offers any hints.
I'll see if I can work out how to do this, and then do it :)

Post Reply