Newbie questions with WR841ND

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

damamm

Newbie questions with WR841ND

Post by damamm »

Greetings fine people,

I'm new to installing customs firmware on routers (never did before), so I have a few newbie questions. I did try reading the documentation and searching forums, but I either didn't find what I need in the mass of posts or just didn't find something clear enough.

My router is a TP-Link TL-WR841ND V8.1 running stock firmware.
I'll be as straightforward as I can:
1) Am I supposed to use this download from the downloads page? gargoyle_1.6.1-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr841n-v8-squashfs-factory.bin
2) Can I simply install it from the WebUI?
3) In case things goes bad and I want to revert, what am I supposed to do to revert it to stock?
--I did try reading the documentation I could find on OpenWRT's page (clicky), but I wonder if it applies to reverting from Gargoyle's as well.
--The steps on that page doesn't use a WebUI. Can I revert from the WebUI? I have no idea where am I supposed to enter those commands, and don't want to risk my router trying to learn it.
4) Are the routers the same regardless of country versions? Mine is a TL-WR841ND (BR), which came with a BR firmware. Won't I have problems installing Gargoyle, and/or reverting to a stock english firmware?

and just in case, anyone else with the same router/version around who can share the experience?

I'd appreciate very much any help.
Thanks in advance!

ps: in an unrelated note, some links on the bottom of the Installation Guide are broken

omiez

Re: Newbie questions with WR841ND

Post by omiez »

Hello damamm

I will try to answer all your questions.

1) This is the formware you need to first flash your router, yes. After this use the upgrade files when a new version is ready.
2) Yes flash from Web Ui and wait 5 minutes and you are fine.