Another "newbies questions" =P

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

SuD

Another "newbies questions" =P

Post by SuD »

hi! I'm a completely newbie in Linux and programming languages...

I have a wr1043nd, and I'm trying to use it for media dlna server. after reading a lot about alternatives firmwares, I've choosen gargoyle to install.

So, it was really easy. I've installed the 1.5.11 version and it was all great.

BUT, I could not find how or where do I have to go/open/click/writesomething to install the minidlna... can someone please give me the directions, or a page with a install guide? but remember... I'm a completely newbie, so, if the guide is directed for 5 year old kid it will be awesome! =P

another question... I have a HDD in ntfs (2tb), and it was recognized and mounted, and it supposed to be shared, but I cannot acess it from windows explorer... what should I do? I've tried \\192.168.1.1\share_1, but nothing happens...

thanks in advance

mates

Re: Another "newbies questions" =P

Post by mates »

SuD wrote:BUT, I could not find how or where do I have to go/open/click/writesomething to install the minidlna... can someone please give me the directions, or a page with a install guide? but remember... I'm a completely newbie, so, if the guide is directed for 5 year old kid it will be awesome! =P
go tu Plugins
click on Refresh Plugins button
Tick DLNA Support for Gargoyle
Click on install button
after that go to SYSTEM ... here will be DLNA
SuD wrote:another question... I have a HDD in ntfs (2tb), and it was recognized and mounted, and it supposed to be shared, but I cannot acess it from windows explorer... what should I do? I've tried \\192.168.1.1\share_1, but nothing happens...
go to System ... USB storage
Type some user with password and click on ADD
After that change Share name (or leave as it is)
Chose rights
and click on add shared disk